Grilled Gulf Shark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Very easy reciepe to follow. I was told to soak the shark steaks in butter milk instead of regular milk; not sure if that really matters. Shark is an acquired taste in my opinion. You either love it or hate it. Thanks for a great and simple reciepe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole Stockdale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
It's a great basic recipe, can never go wrong with this when you've got shark! Allow me to clear some misconceptions about it. The Milk is there to help rid the meat of any fishy smell / ammonia that may be in the meat. This smell is something you get from Shark Meat that was NOT properly prepared by the fishermen. The Urea in the shark's blood break down into ammonia when the shark dies. So it is to VERY important to bleed the shark immediately after it was caught and pack it with ice to slow this process. The other thing with sharks is you want to make sure you're shark is between 2ft-4ft, any larger and the mercury levels will be quite high and the meat will have a stronger taste. At this length they're pretty mild, have the texture of tender steak and the flavor similar to fresh mahi mahi. We occasionally catch one of the few non-regulated species of sharks along the east coast. They're fantastic, even the non fish eaters enjoy it because its nothing like the frozen stuff in the markets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Just to clarify any and all misunderstandings about soaking shark in Milk. Shark meat has a strong ammonia type smell when harvested. Soaking in milk will remove that smell and taste. The way I prefer to do it is soak it 24 hours in vitamin D milk refrigerated, drain off then dispose. Then re-soak in low fat milk before cooking or freeze it in low fat milk for a later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I also have brushed butter on the fillets after turning them once and added lemon pepper seasoning, or it's really good with Cajun Seasoning in place of the salt and pepper.. And yes the marinating in milk is to cut down on any fishy taste. Marinate any wild game meat in milk if you suspect there will be a wild/gamey taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Since no-one in my family had ever tried shark we thought we would give it a try when it went on sale at our local market it was so good I will be making it again Thank you so so much even the kids liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
For those questioning the use of milk, I didn't use it, I just washed the steaks under cool running water for a few minutes, and then squeezed lime juice over them. And if you don't get a good cut of Shark, forget it. It will be horrible. Look for Thresher shark. Sometimes the butcher doesn't even know what he has. *EDIT******I'm going to update my review and mention ammonia smelling fish. If your fish smells like ammonia.....it's time to buy your fish in a different place. FRESH fish of any kind should NOT have a horrible smell of ammonia. When in doubt, throw it out. http://www.fishwatch.gov/buying_seafood/choosing_quality.htm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I will be trying this tonight, but just wanted to clarify that the milk is to remove any fishy odor and/or taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Recipe may be good. But I may just not care for shark. My bf and I both couldn't eat it. Very dry and strange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I have made this recipe twice. Both times, I soaked the shark filet in milk for at least 10 minutes..then, I have drained, patted dry and baked with squeezed lemon juice and pepper. It is fast and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHSOSH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This is a quick and simple recipe that can easily be complimented with other spices to fit your taste. Soaking in milk may sound strange but it gets rid of the ammonia taste that sharks sometimes have so do not pass up this step!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JayViolet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weehawken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Grilled Sea Bass with Chili-Lime Dressing

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-inspired grilled sea bass.

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States