Grilled Green Apple and Gruyere Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
My little sister (10) and I love to make these. We follow the idea of the recipe, using what's available. Usually, it's just Swiss cheese, granny smith apples, and honey. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica_2008

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This was SO good! I had some Gruyere to use up, and I'm so glad I found this recipe. The kids ate it with cheddar and loved it too. We'll have to make this again for a quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This was amazing! I made it exactly as written and I LOVED it! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
These were awesome. My son had 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I made twice. Had a hard time melting the cheese and getting the apples hot enough the first time so make sure to cook on low heat. I also used another type of apple, don't think it matters much. Deeelish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ange82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Excellent. I made it exactly as described except I just used a whole wheat bread I had on hand. VERY good! I will definitely be making it again, and will probably try making changes to it just for variety (like using Swiss or mozarella cheese instead). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This was fabulous! We had leftover Gruyere from making fondue a few nights before and I wanted to use it on a grill cheese. We used sourdough bread because that's what we had and it was amazing! Didn't add the salt and pepper. We will definitely make it again sometime soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
SO Good! My kids loved it. We used swiss because it's cheaper and our regular whole wheat bread. I don't know how, but it tasted like apple pie. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollyelm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
So, I did what other reviewers did and substituted a lot. I used shredded mozzarella and whole grain bread from the grocery store bakery. Also, I found that I had to grill all the bread at once, topping half with the apples and half with the cheese and honey because the cheese won't melt, and therefore won't stay, on top of the apple slices. It tasted very good and was something different, which was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This was unbelievably delicious! I, like other reviewers, didn't have the meal bread, so I just used the oat bran bread I had in my cupboard which worked out just fine. Literally the fastest little sandwich you could make that packs that much flavor. I also could only find apple-smoked gruyere, which I think made the flavor pop even more. I will definitely be making this again...and again...and again...and then probably some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States