Grilled Greek-Style Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
While I prepared this with the ingredients as listed, using olive oil, it is the WAY I cooked it, I believe, that made this a 5-star dish. Rather than enclosing it in foil, which surely would have "stewed" the vegetables, I put them in a shallow baking dish and roasted them at 425 degrees, for about 20 minutes, until crisp tender. The olives were a tasty addition, the seasoning was right on, and my roasting method gave this dish a beautiful color and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Great combination of flavors! I used cherry tomatoes and olive oil. I also used minced garlic and a bit of salt vs. garlic salt. Instead of making a foil packet, I used a foil pan sprayed with a bit of Pam to prevent sticking and roasted this on the grill. Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Very tasty, great combination of flavors. Instead of using a foil pouch, I put these on the grill in a disposable foil pan. I spread the veggies out in a single layer in the pan and they cooked very nicely, without the "stewing" that others mentioned. Only other change I made was to add some garlic. Very good, thank you. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This recipe was refreshing. I have been cooking and collecting recipes for over 50years and also have cookbooks dating back over 125 years. I also love ethnic cooking as I am half Italain and half Polish and raised Greek!! I truly love authentic Greek & Italian recipes My Greek step-dad was a wonderful cook . What I have learned is to basically read thru a recipe if it sounds good and always adjust things to your taste. You get what you put into it ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This sounded really good, but I didn't have some of the ingredients on hand so I improvised. Per prior suggestions, I chunky cut the zucchini and did not enclose it in foil on the grill. I used olive oil instead of canola, didn't have as many olives as the recipe called for and used red onion instead of green. Everything else was as directed. VERY good!! We put the finished product over a bit of cooked pasta and it was a wonderful side dish. I bet feta cheese would be a good substitute for the parm cheese. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FloridaGrillGal
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
After reading reviews, roasted it on rimmed cookie sheet to prevent stewing the veggies. The flavor was great but, in in waiting for the veggies to brown up, they did get a bit too soft for my taste. I'd recommend a chunky cut on the zucchini to keep some of the firmness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloridaGrillGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I'm sure this recipe is pleasantly mild in flavor as promised, but I aimed to make it bursting with flavor. I upped the olive oil and lemon juice slightly, and went with a half sprig of fresh rosemary and 2 tsp of greek herb seasoning medley along with the oregano called for, but leaving out the garlic salt and using 3 cloves of fresh garlic instead. Followed the grilling instructions which were perfect and the sprinkle of fresh parmesan was a nice finishing touch. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This was very, very good! I used 1/4 Vidalia onion and two cloves of garlic, minced. This was easy to make, took very little prep time and tasted delicious! I will be coming back to this one again and again. Thank you, Betty Washburn for this submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This was awesome and I'm not a big zucchini fan. I did as suggested and cut my zucchini into chunks and thick slices. I added additional seasonings including Italian and Greek seasoning, fesh garlic, butter and kosher salt. I placed in aluminum foil but kept the foil open during the cooking. I placed the foil in a vegetable steamer and then placed the steamer on the grill. The zucchini remained crunchy!! Will add this to the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Awesome recipe. So good, I'll make extra next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Belleville, Kansas, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States