Grilled Gorgonzola-Basil Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I dont eat hamburgers that often, but these were delicious! My boyfriend was really impressed too. After I had made the patties, he said they looked like those burgers you get pre-made in the "speciality" section of the meat department. We both loved them. Definitely a great new spin on the hamburger. Great mixture of flavors! Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
These were pretty good burgers, just not as wonderful as I wanted them to be. I will try them again using ground round, maybe, since the extra lean seemed a little dry to me. I think the cheese melted off during cooking, so I will also add it on top at the end of cooking. The basil(from my garden:)) was a really nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imallie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Yum! Like another reviewer said, you will lose quite a bit of the gorgonzola to the grill as it melts. I'm thinking of putting the cheese in the middle of the burger next time to try to hang on to more of it. I ended up adding a little cheese to the top of the burgers - excellent. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
was really good. the second time i made it though, i used a toasted sourdough bun and pre melted the cheese with a little virgin olive oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
My new favorite burgers. I added worchestershire sauce. I also saved 1/4 of the gorgonzola to put on top of the burger once it was finished cooking. I cooked the burgers on our inside grill. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This was a solid recipe- good for when you want to change things up a bit. I think I just struggled with what to top my burger with....besides red onion & tomato. Mayo? Spicy mustard? My husband and I both need a sauce on our food without ruining the intended flavor or authenticity of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
My husband liked these better than I did. I thought the basil was a bit overdone, which made me sad, because I had so much of it to use and was going to get rid of it in freezer burgers :p I would like to give this 5 stars because my husband liked it so much (he doesn't usually ask me what's in a burger, but this time he did...when I asked why he asked, he said, "Because I taste something and I can't usually taste that".)...but I can't give it 5, because I really do believe the recipe calls for more basil than most adults (and certainly most kids) will find tolerable. Great concept, and I will make it again reducing the basil by about a third. Thanks, Caroline Anne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Wonderfully done! Easy and very, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Wow, this makes a delicious burger. I highly recommend this recipe. I used organic extra lean ground beef and accompanied the dish with sweet potato fries. I also put grilled onions and microgreens on the burger bun. Thanks for the recipe! Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Grilled Chicken Burgers

Put a healthy and delicious turn on typical grilled burgers.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States