Grilled Gorgonzola-Basil Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Taste was ok. The burger fell apart, cheese works better adding last or on the side. Does not store well so eat right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I made many substitutions, but it still turned out great! The ground beef I used was a little too lean when I used half of it to make another kind of burger, so for this, I added about 1/3 of a portion of fattier ground beef (maybe just 10% fat, though). I'd make it with a fattier and more finely ground cut next time than the one I used, though. In addition to the seasonings the original recipe called for, I added Italian seasoning breadcrumbs (just about 1 Tbspn for a 6-burger portion), since I had some extra in the pantry. I also added about 1/4 teaspoon per burger portion. I wanted to make this a pure basil burger, so instead of mixing gorgonzola in it, I put slices of extra sharp cheddar on top. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Chen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This month Allrecipes challenged the Ambassadors to make a 6-ingredient recipe substituting some or all of the protein with sausage. I read the reviews on this recipe, and there was an issue with the gorgonzola cheese melting out of the burger when it was grilled. I put the cheese inside the center of the burger which eliminated that problem. I substituted half of the ground beef with Johnsonville® Mild Italian Ground Sausage which when combined with the chopped basil and garlic put this burger over the top. I typically eat my burgers medium, but I didn’t want the sausage uncooked for obvious reasons. But there was no reason for concern about overcooking because the mellow Gorgonzola cheese in the center and the sausage itself kept this burger moist and juicy with all ingredients complementing each other, but not one dominating. This was divine, 5 stars all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Wow, this makes a delicious burger. I highly recommend this recipe. I used organic extra lean ground beef and accompanied the dish with sweet potato fries. I also put grilled onions and microgreens on the burger bun. Thanks for the recipe! Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Wonderfully done! Easy and very, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
My husband liked these better than I did. I thought the basil was a bit overdone, which made me sad, because I had so much of it to use and was going to get rid of it in freezer burgers :p I would like to give this 5 stars because my husband liked it so much (he doesn't usually ask me what's in a burger, but this time he did...when I asked why he asked, he said, "Because I taste something and I can't usually taste that".)...but I can't give it 5, because I really do believe the recipe calls for more basil than most adults (and certainly most kids) will find tolerable. Great concept, and I will make it again reducing the basil by about a third. Thanks, Caroline Anne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This was a solid recipe- good for when you want to change things up a bit. I think I just struggled with what to top my burger with....besides red onion & tomato. Mayo? Spicy mustard? My husband and I both need a sauce on our food without ruining the intended flavor or authenticity of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
My new favorite burgers. I added worchestershire sauce. I also saved 1/4 of the gorgonzola to put on top of the burger once it was finished cooking. I cooked the burgers on our inside grill. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
was really good. the second time i made it though, i used a toasted sourdough bun and pre melted the cheese with a little virgin olive oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Grilled Chicken Burgers

Put a healthy and delicious turn on typical grilled burgers.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States