Grilled Garlic Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
These were delicious. Did not add the cheese which is unusual for me as my theory is "everything is better with cheese". Leaving it off sure did reduce the calories and the potatoes and onions were yummy. Just used a lot of butter, salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Everything is better with garlic powder too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Howell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This is a great recipe and I have been making a variation of it for years. I do toss the sliced potatoes in a little olive oil, garlic powder and salt and pepper prior to adding them to the foil. I also add the ingredients in small layers to ensure the cooking of the potatoes is more uniform. Potatoes, onion, butter, garlic, and so on. Finally at the end I add shredded cheese and bacon. Great taters!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Made a half batch of these today. Didn't have fresh parsley but used dried. Everything else was as written. Hubby and I both love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Very good and easy too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
These are great. You can also put them in an aluminum bake pan and cover with foil. I added chopped bacon too as a variation. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I have making a variation of these for several years. My camping go to. Potatoes, onion, garlic, salt, pepper, jalapenos and green chilies in olive oil! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Delicious. However, I suggest wrapping the potatoes in several different foil packets. I did it all in one and it was nearly impossible to flip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Tavormina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
One of the best potatoe recipes I've tasted! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Very yummy! I didn't follow exact measurements here but just used the ingredients as I saw fit. They turned out really good! And they smell amazing while they are cooking. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Yum! I really liked these!!! My hubs wasn't a fan (he says our potatoes were too bland for his liking) but unless I am heavy handed with the salt shaker, he thinks EVERYTHING is underseasoned lol! As many others have done, I too grilled my potatoes in a shallow tinfoil (i.e. disposable) baking pan. Although convenient, I think I'll use non-stick foil next time. The layer of potatoes on the bottom of my dish were B-U-R-N-T!!! Had I used foil, I would have been able to flip my potatoes to prevent them from burning (there IS a reason for the foil...). Thankfully, I made three layers of potatoes, so there was plenty to eat that wasn't burnt. NOTE: I just sprayed my pan (generously) and each potato layer (lightly) with Pam - no butter was necessary. If you are looking to cut calories, this offers a simple solution to do so. Placing my potatoes under the broiler for a few minutes quickly melted my cheese layer, but this step was not necessary, IMHO. The heat from the potatoes melts the cheese just fine (you can skip the last step of this recipe alltogether). Thanks for sharing, Kelly! This worked out very well for me. Not only did this pair well with my grilled chicken kabobs, I was also able to avoid heating up my kitchen during one of the Midwest's hottest heat waves in years. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Garlic Red Potatoes

This simple, savory side dish is perfect beside steaks and roasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States