Grilled Fruit Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Tried this recipe as my first grilled fruit experience. The family loved them and I will be making them many more times over the summer. definitly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen Bouck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Recipe Group Selection: 31, March 2012 For starters my first mistake was sending hubby to the store for a peach and a plum. He came home with a brick hard nectarine and a rotten plum. He tried, I'll give him credit for that. I cut away the bad part of the plum and used what was left along with the nectarine, kiwi, pineapple and bananas. I really only liked the pineapple (everything else was too mushy for my taste) and would have given this 3 stars. DH on the other hand liked all of it, hence the 4 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Made for Recipe Group. Peaches and plums aren't even in the store here yet. I added instead some kiwi, mango, and pineapple. The sauce was good, I caramelized another batch for dipping. I did not like the mushiness or heated fruit. Just not to my taste I guess, sorry. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group...My peaches and plums were under-ripe (they are not in season here right now) and this still turned out fantastic! LOVED, LOVED, LOVED how the bananas turned out (could've just did a skewer of bananas and been happy, lol), but looking forward to trying this w/ other fruits, as well. These were great as is, but they would even be wonderful served w/ ice cream! Will def be making these again! Thanks or sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I did 8 skewers exactly as recipe calls for. The plum and strawberries softened up too much. Then I did skewers that had champagne mangos and pineapples with peach, banana and bigger strawberries. All fruit tasted wonderful, not too sweet at all. I save the sauce for redipping afterwards. I enjoyed this and will do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This was the recipe group selection for March 31, 2012. We eat a lot of fruit and this was a nice change of pace. I used fresh fruit that was available at the market. The honey sauce adds just a smidgeon of sweetness but does not overpower the fruit and allows the grill flavor to shine through. I served it with Greek Yogurt for a tasty, healthy lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This was very good! I made it as suggested by the member named Jillian! I loved her caramel sauce idea! My fruits of choice were mangos, peaches, bananas and strawberries! I'll have to try this again with other fruit combos...maybe cherries and pineapples next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Awesome! If you've ever had grilled fruit before you'll love this! For the sauce, I used 2 Tbsp. of honey and 2 Tbsp. of brown sugar along with a bit of vanilla and cinnamon in order to give it more of a "caramel" flavor. I didn't bother doing it on the stove top - just microwave it for quicker and easier results. Melt the margarine or in my case Land O Lakes Lite butter and add the rest of the ingredients. I skewered the fruit and placed it on a lightly oiled grate. The strawberries cooked a bit faster than the rest of the fruit but that doesn't matter because the smell coming off the grill is Heavenly! There's more than enough sauce for basting so it's great to drizzle over the fruit when it comes off the grill (or just about anything else you can think of). This is perfect all by itself, but would be wonderful over pound cake or ice cream if you want to take this over the top. Great summer treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
these were really good but I made a few changes and my family loved them. I added a dash of cinnamon and vanilla extract to it and they came out great. We used just peaches and strawberries and didn't cook them as long as recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This was wonderful! I like to eat healthy meals but when it comes to dessert, splurge a little! Yes, this is a keeper..thanks Laura!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States