Grilled Five Spice Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Note* The written recipe has omitted the crushed ginger that John mentions in his video. It DOES make a difference, so add a 1/2 tsp of ginger for the perfect taste he intended. I didn't have the fish sauce on hand, so I used oyster sauce instead and it was so good that when I made it again, I was afraid to change the ingredient. Thanks Chef John, it's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smilin' Rosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I made this yesterday and it turned out great! I omitted the fish sauce from both the marinade and finishing sauce. While I love fish and seafood, the combination with chicken just did not sound appealing. Also, I did not care for the finishing sauce. The chicken was tasty w/o it. I also threw some mesquite chips on top of the briquets for a little smoke. Make sure you use indirect heat otherwise you risk burning it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by epicurious_11

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fall Creek, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I made the marinade portion of this recipe and used on B/S chix b's, delicious! I added a slug of sherry to stretch the marinade a bit, and marinated overnight. Very delicious and different. Thanks, Chef J!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Oh, Chef John! I made this, just hoping to find something a little "different" for a change instead of the typical BBQ. I even started making my own sauce because I got so bored of the jarred ones! This, however, was wonderful! All 6 of my kids, and my hubby gobbled it right away! I had to put 2 pieces aside for my 1 son to have for when he got home from work, for fear there would be none! :) Thank you for sharing this great recipe- I shall use it often! BTW, I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grobiegirl1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Arlington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rutherford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I forgot to get lime so just added a little more rice vinegar. Was a little sceptical with the marinade at the beginning but it turned out great. We fried it in the pan first and then put it in the oven for about 30-40 mins. Then we used the juice to make gravy by adding some sugar and cornstarch. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
My family loved this chicken. I had to adapt some ingredients based on what I had on hand. I used 10 boneless skinless thighs (they were on the small side). I used oyster sauce instead of fish sauce and red curry paste instead of hot chile paste. Marinated 6 hours then grilled. So tender and juicy with a indian like flavor. Served this with jasmine rice and steamed spinach seasoned with vinegar. I didn't make the basting sauce or add the ginger that was not listed in the ingredients but used in the video. Next time I will try using the ginger, but keeping the other ingredients the same. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melodylane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lambertville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
delicious! used bone in chicken breasts. came out nice and juicy and wonderfully spiced on the grill. thanks for the post Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Just cooked this chicken. The flavors are amazing. I used ground ginger in place of freshly grated but the end result was delicious. Keep in mind your cooking time is a little shorter when you cut the slits in the chicken breasts. Will make this many times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This was awesome! I used chicken breast and I can only imagine what it would taste like with a whole chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Daly City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I went out and bought five spice for this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Grilled Lemon Chicken

A zesty marinade for grilled chicken breasts. Dinner’s ready in minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States