Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle-Lime Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
A*M*A*Z*I*N*G fish tacos. I had a serious craving for fish tacos (definitely not the first thing I want when craving something,) and these more than delivered. I marinated in a large ziplock and then removed from the marinade and baked, covered at 450 F for 10 minutes rather than grill them (I'll try grilling come summer.) The only change I made was using chipotle chile powder in the marinade (so omitted hot sauce,) because I didn't have regular chile powder, and hot chile powder in the sauce (so skipped pepper and didn't think it needed salt, so skipped that, too). As per other reviewers, I only used just under 1/4 cup of liquid (just the liquid) from the chipotle peppers and I'm glad I did. Initially I thought had I ruined the sauce. But letting the flavours marry for six hours (as long as I let the fish marinate) "corrected" the taste and it turned out lovely. I think that is the secret to this sauce. You just can't make it right before serving the fish. It'll be too sour (from the lime) and adob-o-ish. These were spicy but in my subjective opinion, not crazy spicy. Maybe because I topped them with a fresh tomato/avocado salsa (3 large tomatoes diced, 2 avocados diced, 1/2 red onion finely chopped, 1 small red chile, seeded and minced, juice of 1 lime, 1 tbsp white wine vinegar, 1 small bunch cilantro chopped) mix and marinate for a few hours. Everything together = OM*G. Especially so with a lime margarita. :0) Thank you, thank you, Mabcat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Excellent fish tacos! I made the marinade exactly by the recipe. Marinated 6 hours. I used tilapia and the fish was very flavorful and yummy enough to eat alone. The sauce I altered a little bit. I left out the lime zest and added a tablespoon of honey to the mixture. Also I only added about 1/4 a cup of the Adobe sauce. Next time I would cut the sauce recipe in half. It makes a lot!!! Thank you for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Used less adobo sauce and a bit of honey in dressing. Next time I'll double the recipe because my family devoured them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Just fantastic, bright and balanced dish, And easy! The 2nd time I made it I used greek yogurt instead of sour cream to make it a tiny bit healthier and it was still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
First of all, GREAT marinade! But, as we do not have tilapia here in the U.P. (and, I prefer a firmer white fish) I used Pollock, which is a nice, mild, white fish. Didn't cut into chunks, just let the marinade do its work and then broiled the fish on the second rack down, 4 minutes per side. Warmed the flour tortillas in the microwave, and, with the chopped cilantro, some pre-shredded packaged cabbage mix and chopped tomatoes, chopped green chiles in a sour cream based sauce and slivered red onion...VERY good! My husband loved it so, there you have it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Very good. Easy to make. Kids really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
This was great! I used apple cider vinegar instead if white, and left out the lime zest. I also didn't add the hot sauce because we didn't have any. I had a can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, and just used the sauce from the can and not the peppers. It was spicy, but delicious! Everyone in my family loved it, and I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
This recipe reads delicious. Unfortunately the adobo dressing was terrible! It ruined a perfectly delicious piece of Mahi. It was way too overpowering. Without the dressing this would have been okay. Just say no to the dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Very good, we never made fish tacos before (in 27 years) and they were like a fiesta in your mouth! Probably more ingredients than I am used to mixing up, but well worth the trouble! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
We loved this version of fish tacos! I did make some changes, though, based on what I had on hand...Used Mahi Mahi instead of tilapia and used extra cummin in both marinade and sauce. Because of the weather, K chose to broil instead of grill and it turned out fantastic! I will be making this again real soon!! RFry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 655) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States