Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle-Lime Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
So good! I cut back on the oil in the marinade because wherever I can cut oil I will cut oil. Also, whenever I attempt to grill fish it usually falls apart so I pan fried. Very tasty and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I agree with everyone who loved this recipe too. The marinade is awesome, the fish can be eaten all by itself, the sauce can be a little overwhelming but is easily toned down with more sour cream. I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Quick and easy prep. Cut the recipe for the Adobo/Chipotle sauce in half otherwise you'll have a ton of leftover topping. Also reduced the Chipotle/Adobo in half - previous experience and personal taste told me that it would be overpowering and a bit too zippy for our tastes. Definately will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troy Woodruff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
The dressing was awesome, I used corn tortillas and grilled them first. I have also made this with whole frozen fish fillets that had a crispy crust (fish sticks) and it was passable in a hurry... Nice recipe to rotate through family dinners - my kids enjoyed it with tartar sauce instead of the chipolte dressing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
A*M*A*Z*I*N*G fish tacos. I had a serious craving for fish tacos (definitely not the first thing I want when craving something,) and these more than delivered. I marinated in a large ziplock and then removed from the marinade and baked, covered at 450 F for 10 minutes rather than grill them (I'll try grilling come summer.) The only change I made was using chipotle chile powder in the marinade (so omitted hot sauce,) because I didn't have regular chile powder, and hot chile powder in the sauce (so skipped pepper and didn't think it needed salt, so skipped that, too). As per other reviewers, I only used just under 1/4 cup of liquid (just the liquid) from the chipotle peppers and I'm glad I did. Initially I thought had I ruined the sauce. But letting the flavours marry for six hours (as long as I let the fish marinate) "corrected" the taste and it turned out lovely. I think that is the secret to this sauce. You just can't make it right before serving the fish. It'll be too sour (from the lime) and adob-o-ish. These were spicy but in my subjective opinion, not crazy spicy. Maybe because I topped them with a fresh tomato/avocado salsa (3 large tomatoes diced, 2 avocados diced, 1/2 red onion finely chopped, 1 small red chile, seeded and minced, juice of 1 lime, 1 tbsp white wine vinegar, 1 small bunch cilantro chopped) mix and marinate for a few hours. Everything together = OM*G. Especially so with a lime margarita. :0) Thank you, thank you, Mabcat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Excellent fish tacos! I made the marinade exactly by the recipe. Marinated 6 hours. I used tilapia and the fish was very flavorful and yummy enough to eat alone. The sauce I altered a little bit. I left out the lime zest and added a tablespoon of honey to the mixture. Also I only added about 1/4 a cup of the Adobe sauce. Next time I would cut the sauce recipe in half. It makes a lot!!! Thank you for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Used less adobo sauce and a bit of honey in dressing. Next time I'll double the recipe because my family devoured them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Just fantastic, bright and balanced dish, And easy! The 2nd time I made it I used greek yogurt instead of sour cream to make it a tiny bit healthier and it was still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
First of all, GREAT marinade! But, as we do not have tilapia here in the U.P. (and, I prefer a firmer white fish) I used Pollock, which is a nice, mild, white fish. Didn't cut into chunks, just let the marinade do its work and then broiled the fish on the second rack down, 4 minutes per side. Warmed the flour tortillas in the microwave, and, with the chopped cilantro, some pre-shredded packaged cabbage mix and chopped tomatoes, chopped green chiles in a sour cream based sauce and slivered red onion...VERY good! My husband loved it so, there you have it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 658) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States