Grilled Filet Mignon with Gorgonzola Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I only made the sauce from this recipe and it is wonderful. We had 10 people for dinner with a Tenderloin and everyone asked me for the recipe. I made this dish the night before and to warm it I placed it over a pan of water and heated. I did use more Gorgonzola cheese than the recipe calls for. Cut back on quantities because it's so rich people only take a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I think this is sinfully good. To the negative reviews on the calories... HELLO!! It doesn't take a genius to see it's a rich recipe but to rate it poorly for that reason is nonsense. Thanks for a great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Pits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I made this with less parmesan cheese (simply b/c of preference) and half and half instead of heavy cream to reduce the richness but added cayenne pepper to give the sauce a kick. In addition I sliced the tenderloin into small half dollar size pieces and plated them along with potato pancakes. Everyone had a second helping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Rich and delicious! Definitely not for those counting calories! I made this for two filets so I cut back on the sauce. This is one of those sauces that you have to do to your tastes. I used one cup of light cream and brought it to a boil and let it reduce a bit. I used two to three ounces of gorgonzola cheese and about three tsp. of parmesan cheese. I added salt, pepper, nutmeg, and a bit of cayenne. I added the crumbled bacon right to the sauce. I seasoned the filets as we usually do for grilling. Once they came off I poured a bit of the sauce over top then topped them off with sliced green onion. Perfect with grilled baked potaotes and a garden salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I made this for Christmas and it was a BIG success! The only thing I would do different is cook the sauce first and let it cool and then spread onto the steak when they are done. I had no left overs just them wanting more! Thank you very much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I use cream of mushroom soup with skim milk whisked in to make up volume instead of cream here. I also add some sliced mushrooms near the end of cooking, and increase the Gorgonzola a bit (okay and I add a bit of garlic... I love my garlic!). Make sure to use a nice, high quality cheese. I tried it once with an amazing goat Gorgonzola, and another time with a cheaper pre-crumbled variety. You can definitely taste the difference and I think I'd have to double the cheaper one to get the same flavour out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Great sauce recipe. I added sun dried tomatoes and black olives to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CONSTANTLIGHT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Seriously amazing. The only change we made was using chives in place of the green onions because we have a ton of those growing in our garden. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This was amazing! Soooooo good. I was able to make the sauce ahead of time, which was nice. I used a little more cheese (maybe 5 oz.) and it was a little much, so I added a little more heavy cream. I also omitted the nutmeg. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDHOTRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I let this simmer for about an hour and 15 minutes. it did only reduce by about a third. In my opinion it could have used a lot more gorgonzola as i found this to be quite bland. i don't know if it is because i did not add the nutmeg ( i cant stand nutmeg) or what, but nothing I need to rush to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States