Grilled Filet Mignon with Gorgonzola Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I made this last week for me and my boyfriend, and he freaked out; it was so good! We both agreed we had never eaten a better homemade steak. To make the meal for two, I used 2 cups of cream but still 3 ounces of gorgonzola cheese (the perfect, perfect sauce). I also pan-seared the steaks instead of grilling them. They were so delicious! Sided with garlic mashed potatoes and asparagus, this is a meal that I'm sure I will use again, especially if I'm trying to impress someone. (: Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
My friends were so impressed with the flavor. This sauce would taste good on just about anything...it's THAT good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This is amazing! I do add 1/8 tsp of cayenne pepper. I usually have 1/2 left over and make it with grilled vegetables (asparagus, red pepper and squash) mixed with bowtie pasta. Thank you very much for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willoughby Hills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
So good. This is one of my favorite meals. A local restaurant makes a filet with gorgonzola cheese, rock shrimp and asparagus. I steam the asparagus and shrimp, grill the filet, put it in the center of the plate, put a few shrimp and asparagus around the steak, and drizzle the sauce over all of it. Thanks for the recipe. 10 stars! I recommend making the augratin potato recipe on here. Just search for garlic augratin potatoes, and sort by rating. It's the highest rated one on here. Complements the fillet just perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Substituted English Stilton for Gorgonzola... Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woodcoach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caledonia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Sauce is soo great. Very rich, thick and had a bunch left over! Well worth the make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Rich and delicious! Definitely not for those counting calories! I made this for two filets so I cut back on the sauce. This is one of those sauces that you have to do to your tastes. I used one cup of light cream and brought it to a boil and let it reduce a bit. I used two to three ounces of gorgonzola cheese and about three tsp. of parmesan cheese. I added salt, pepper, nutmeg, and a bit of cayenne. I added the crumbled bacon right to the sauce. I seasoned the filets as we usually do for grilling. Once they came off I poured a bit of the sauce over top then topped them off with sliced green onion. Perfect with grilled baked potaotes and a garden salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
WOW! I made with half and half and added a little bit more cheese than called for..was FABULOUS over tri-tip! my husband wants to put it over pasta tomorrow for lunch :) Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This is very good, something like you'd get in a 5 star restaraunt! I added cayenne to spice it up just a tad. I'd suggest cutting the recipe in half b/c it makes way more than you need for 4 steaks. However, I reheated the leftovers slowly on the stove, using a small whisk and it came out perfectly~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This was an excellent recipe. The sauce was tasty. I'm not a great cook but this made me look like one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States