Grilled Filet Mignon with Gorgonzola Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I followed directions exactly as written and couldn't have been happier. I'm all about flavor and this recipe is full of flavor. How could you go wrong, bacon, thick cream with cheese flavor with onions. The wife loved this and so did I. I will make this again and will try with chicken breasts as well. Thanks for the recipe. This was really outstanding for me to rate 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Great recipe! Sauce has a great flavor! My husband couldn't stop talking about how good the cheese was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I made just the sauce and poured over bacon wrapped filet mignon and grilled asparagus; it was a huge hit. My family loved it! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
My boyfriend is a big gorgonzola fan and I decided to make this one night for dinner. I actually used a little more gorgonzola than the recipe called for and we were not disappointed. I will be making this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
So delicious!! Used a New York strip. Doesn't overwhelm taste buds but pushing them to the limit of satisfactory! Didn't add the nutmeg but so good thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I don't have a nice outdoor grill, so I cook the steaks in the broiler for only 2-3 minutes per side. The cream didn't turn out that well for me (hence the three stars); it was still runny after an hour of simmering. In retrospect, I would use only three cups of cream and add cornstarch to speed up the thickening process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyK811

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
OK, so I changed the recipe. so shoot me for rating it 5 stars but I can't help it. with the few small changes that I made this was AMAZING! As another reviewer suggested I used only 1 cup cream with the full amounts of everything else. I did add a pinch of cayenne but couldn't even taste it anyways. the only slight problem I had was that the sauce did not thicken even with the reduced amt of cream. Ended up adding probably a bit more than a T cornstarch. Perfect. Nice and thick, good flavour, especially with the bacon and green onions. for my steaks I wrapped them in bacon and broiled them after brushing with some olive oil, salt and pepper. To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Busymommyinthekitchen
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I made this for Valentines day and it was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly as far as ingredients but I did use less cream to make a smaller quantity of the sauce (there were only 2 of us). I just eyeballed the Gorgonzola & Parmesan according to my taste and just added until i got the consistency I wanted (and it didn't take a full hour to get the cream to reduce/thicken nicely- I only used about 1.5 cups and we had plenty of sauce for 2 people to use generously). It's very flavorful & rich- definitely my favorite cream sauce I've ever eaten on a steak! I wasn't sure about the nutmeg- I like it but my husband doesn't - however I went for it & we didn't notice it in the finished product. However, the sauce was so good, I will make it exactly the same next time as I can only assume it's in there for a reason! I also seasoned the steaks according to this recipe and would follow this again- I did them stove top in my grilling pan. I paired this with roasted asparagus and the whole meal was a success. Great recipe for a special occasion at home- yet, it wasn't difficult, only took me about 40min start to finish so it was feasible for a working mom with a toddler to pull off with little hassle. *we don't care much for onions, so I garnished the top with the bacon crumbles & a little fresh parsley which added color and also seemed to work nicely with the cream sauce. Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RebeccaD
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I made this for New Year's Eve dinner and it was fabulous! The only changes I made was to the sauce- I used half n half and reduced fat gorgonzola simply because that is what I had on hand. The sauce does take one hour - and needs 'hand holding' so plan to spend the time. And, don't forget the nutmeg- it's a must. This is a 5 star dish suitable for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This is delicious!!!! It took just over an hour and we ate it in minutes it was so good! Love the sauce! We had some fresh New Jersey corn and asparagus on the side and the flavors came together nicely. Certainly not an inexpensive meal but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States