Grilled Eggplant and Tomato Sandwiches with Romano-Black Pepper Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This is a great sandwich. I am a restaurant lunch cook and have used this as a lunch special several times. Delicious with mozzarella cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I made a LOT of changes to this recipe- I tried to make a custom version but I'm not a supporting member, so I will have to just add it here- sorry.The only thing I used from this recipe was the eggplant, olive oil, italtian bread, and fresh basil leaves. I grilled the eggplant and put the slices on the french bread that had oil brushed on them. I grilled red peppers, mushrooms, and onions and placed them on top of the eggplant with the basil leaves on top. Then I put fresh mozzarella cheese on top and cooked it in the oven until the cheese melted. You can either eat them as a sandwhich (but it's thick) or open faced. It was SOOOOO good! I would not have come up with the idea without reading this recipe which is why I am rating it here. My bf loved it, and he swore he didn't like eggplant. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Made this for my vegetarian daughter. We both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. I don't get these 5 star reviews. I don't know what went wrong. I really think the veggies need to be cooled and perhaps the sandwich pressed and left to sit for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Oh my this sandwich is pure grilled veggie heaven! I used Hellman's light mayo for the mayonnaise mixture. In addition to the olive oil, I seasoned the veggies with garlic and the optional salt and pepper. I also grilled a red onion along with the eggplant and tomatoes to take the sandwich over the top. I broiled the bread lightly toasting it before spreading the mayo mixture and piling on the veggies and fresh basil leaves. Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
My wife really enjoyed these. She said the mayo was excellent. The only change I made was to top it with American cheese and toast it on the grill until the cheese was melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
delicious! I made some changes, only because I had to use what I had. I didn't have fresh basil so I added a generous amount of dried basil to the mayo mixture. Also, I added crumbled feta to the mayo in place of romano and added garlic powder. This recipe was easy and made me want to go back and make myself about 4 more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KShelor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I would give this 10 stars if I could! We loved it ... also added garlic powder to mayo mixture and roasted red peppers to the sandwich. It was to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This sandwich is DELICIOUS! I made this on a warm baguette and opted not to grill the tomatoes. The flavors in this were excellent and I absolutely LOVED the mayo. I may grill some onions next time too, just to add another dimension of flavor. This is something I could see myself making over and over~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
These were awesome -- I grilled my bread and used parm instead of romano cheese. They were excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States