Grilled Eggplant Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Tried this rcipe last night for the family. Everyone loved it. That includes one teen who avoids most veggies, and on in his twenties who won't touch pasta in any form (so appreciated the potatoes). It is an unseasonably frigid and - yesterday-snowy winte here, so I substituted my broiler for the barbecue grill. That probably deprived the dish of a small amount of "smoke" flavor that the grill would have added. Since I will Definitely make this again (and again), I can find out what the grill adds when the weather warms up here. Also used ground lamb, which is what I ususally use to make moussaka. It would have been good with ground beef, but I think it's better with the lamb. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BarbZ
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Very tasty! I have made moussaka for years but this is the best recipe for updated tastes. I did use ground lamb for a more authentic flavor, upping the fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
What a delicious moussaka! I didn't change a thing. I loved it and my husband too. By following the directions I managed to (successfully) make bechamel sauce from scratch for the time ever :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieliseCanada

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
this recipe takes forever! More than 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Absolutely delicious as is! Could add a little more spice/flavour to the meat. I roasted the veggies in the oven at 375 F and used venison instead of beef. I added a little garlic to the meat and used parsley flakes (from lack of fresh parsley). It was my first time making béchamel sauce and it turned out great (be careful not to let it burn and don't be too cheap on the nutmeg) and the amount was perfect. I worried that it wouldn't all fit in the 9x13" dish but it filled exactly to the top and didn't spill over while cooking. It took me 2 hrs to prepare + the 30 mins final cooktime. I enjoyed making it and we really enjoyed eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
If you love to cook this is fun to make but does take time. On the second attempt I boiled the potatoes and put foil and olive oil on the grill to cook the eggplant and zucchini. My grown son who is a picky eater asked why I didn't make MORE! Well worth the time it takes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I did not like this at all. Not sure if I missed something in the recipe or if it was really that bad. Ive had Moussaka in restaurants and loved it so I know what its supposed to taste like. I would not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
THe concept was interesting, but the result disappointing. THis took a lot of work, but seemed dry and tastless. Have tried a baked, not fried moussaka which seemed to do lower-fat better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
My boyfriend's brother hates eating veggies, and dislikes eggplant. I never told what was in it and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Eggplant Lasagna

Layers of breaded roasted eggplant with ground beef, tomato sauce, and cheese.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States