Grilled Eggplant Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Dear Braycorp, After some minutes of simmering the mixture of flour, butter, milk and nutmeg should be thick like custard. This white sauce, used as topping, is called bechamel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by constantina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Xanthi, East Macedonia And Thrace, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I use ground turkey, and added mushrooms while cooking the onions. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was delicious! I made three changes, which I don't normally do, but wanted to make this recipe easier. First, I roasted the vegetables in the oven. Caoted with cooking spray...easy. I added french onion soup mix to the beef because I wasn't in the mood to chop onions. Lastly, since we were hungry and I had two hungry babies, I skipped out on the bechamel all together. Just sprinkled feta cheese. I'm sure the sauce would have made the recipe, but I decided that it would be healthier for now anyways! I was pleased to find this recipe on an ingredient search. Ive wanted to try the moussaka at our local family restaurant for quite sometime-now I HAVE to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I can't praise this recipe enough! I made it exactly as written because I wanted to get an authentic flavor. What I got was a masterpiece! I preferred the grilled vegetables to fried. My family LOVED this dish, and I know I'll be making it again soon. It's well worth the time and effort to make it right, with no shortcuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I thought this was delicious! It was time consuming, but making this moussaka was quite enjoyable for a rainy evening with the place to myself. I brushed the veggies with olive oil and baked them in the oven at 375 degrees instead of grilling them. Each vegetable had a different cook time for me, so I would recommend monitoring and poking around a little to assess when the vegetables are soft to your liking. My final product included some water at the bottom of my baking dish, but this did not translate to a watery moussaka. The sauce was super creamy, and the feta was a delicious touch. Plus, my apartment smells amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Wow, this is really, really good. This is my first time making moussaka and it turned out very good. I used 4 red potatoes, 2 zucchini, and leftover grilled eggplant that my mom cooked. I also added some crumbled bacon, leftover spinach and artichoke dip, and substituted tomato paste for the tomatoes. I also cut the sauce down because my tray was about to overflow but it added a nice "crust" at the top. Baked for 55 minutes. Awesome! I know this will be all gone tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I have made Moussaka a few times before....and I have been hesitant to make it for the last couple of years, because it is such a heavy dish. Your idea of grilling the veggies is just what I needed. I'm going to start making it again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Delicious! I have never made moussaka before but have seen it done on cooking shows on TV. I roasted the veggies in the oven with olive oil instead of grilling. I think I might have cooked them a bit too long because the potatoes and zucchini were a little mushy, while the eggplant was fine. If I were to make this again I would definitely shorten the cooking time for the veggies. I also added garlic, crushed red pepper, sugar, a small can of tomato sauce and 2 cans of diced tomatoes to the meat mixture. I used rice milk instead of regular milk due to a whey allergy and tossed in grated parmesan cheese in between each layer. Baked it for about 40 mins and it came out very good, just a bit watery. Maybe that was because of the canned tomatoes or because I overcooked the veggies. But overall it is a good recipe..not so heavy and very interesting. Try it, it's time-consuming but the flavors are great! A nice way to spend a stormy Sunday afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Good Recipe- Definately much lighter than the original fried moussaka-- (Good for a treat) In regards to Braycorp's question "whisk in 1/4 cup of the thickened milk" How do we get here? The step calls to put the milk into the flour and simmer to thicken it. This is the "thickened milk" You take a little bit out of the pot and beat it into the egg REALLY quickly as not to cook the egg- Kind of like you would for an avgolemono soup- Never heard of making bechamel like this but it did come out good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This is a good moussaka recipe but bland and a bit cumbersome. I used only 2 lg eggplant, no zucchini. Vegetable Changes:I sliced the eggplant in to 1/4 in slices, spritzed with olive oil spray and baked in a 400 oven for 10 minutes on a parchment lined pan. I boiled the potato slices for 4 minutes. Bechamel was good and only change I made was way more than a pinch of nutmeg, 1/4 teaspoon is more like it. Meat/Sauce changes: Peeled the tomatoes. Added 1 t cinnamon, 1/4 t ground allspice, and a pinch of ground clove. Added two cloves of garlic, minced to the sautee. Omitted parsley because I didnt feel like going back to the garden and my son brought me cilantro by mistake when I sent him. Added 1 T tomato paste and a 1/4 c red wine. I thought sauce looked runny so I thickened with a slurry of 2T water and 2 t cornstarch. WIth my changes it is a 5 stars. It makes an enormous quantity, but that is OK because it freezes well. I took the leftovers, and chilled in fridge. I cut into serving size slabs and wrapped in a double layer of wax paper. Shoved all the wrapped slabs in a labelled ziploc bag. Now I have excellent lunches to go. Take a slab to work and it defrost in time to heat nicely in a microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States