Grilled Eggplant Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I use ground turkey, and added mushrooms while cooking the onions. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Tastes good but I did not understand the instruction in step 4 that said "whisk in 1/4 cup of the thickened milk" How do we get here? I just put in the milk and it does taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr Science

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosharon, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Dear Braycorp, After some minutes of simmering the mixture of flour, butter, milk and nutmeg should be thick like custard. This white sauce, used as topping, is called bechamel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by constantina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Xanthi, East Macedonia And Thrace, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Good Recipe- Definately much lighter than the original fried moussaka-- (Good for a treat) In regards to Braycorp's question "whisk in 1/4 cup of the thickened milk" How do we get here? The step calls to put the milk into the flour and simmer to thicken it. This is the "thickened milk" You take a little bit out of the pot and beat it into the egg REALLY quickly as not to cook the egg- Kind of like you would for an avgolemono soup- Never heard of making bechamel like this but it did come out good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was delicious! I made three changes, which I don't normally do, but wanted to make this recipe easier. First, I roasted the vegetables in the oven. Caoted with cooking spray...easy. I added french onion soup mix to the beef because I wasn't in the mood to chop onions. Lastly, since we were hungry and I had two hungry babies, I skipped out on the bechamel all together. Just sprinkled feta cheese. I'm sure the sauce would have made the recipe, but I decided that it would be healthier for now anyways! I was pleased to find this recipe on an ingredient search. Ive wanted to try the moussaka at our local family restaurant for quite sometime-now I HAVE to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Delicious! I have never made moussaka before but have seen it done on cooking shows on TV. I roasted the veggies in the oven with olive oil instead of grilling. I think I might have cooked them a bit too long because the potatoes and zucchini were a little mushy, while the eggplant was fine. If I were to make this again I would definitely shorten the cooking time for the veggies. I also added garlic, crushed red pepper, sugar, a small can of tomato sauce and 2 cans of diced tomatoes to the meat mixture. I used rice milk instead of regular milk due to a whey allergy and tossed in grated parmesan cheese in between each layer. Baked it for about 40 mins and it came out very good, just a bit watery. Maybe that was because of the canned tomatoes or because I overcooked the veggies. But overall it is a good recipe..not so heavy and very interesting. Try it, it's time-consuming but the flavors are great! A nice way to spend a stormy Sunday afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Wow, this is really, really good. This is my first time making moussaka and it turned out very good. I used 4 red potatoes, 2 zucchini, and leftover grilled eggplant that my mom cooked. I also added some crumbled bacon, leftover spinach and artichoke dip, and substituted tomato paste for the tomatoes. I also cut the sauce down because my tray was about to overflow but it added a nice "crust" at the top. Baked for 55 minutes. Awesome! I know this will be all gone tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I thought this was delicious! It was time consuming, but making this moussaka was quite enjoyable for a rainy evening with the place to myself. I brushed the veggies with olive oil and baked them in the oven at 375 degrees instead of grilling them. Each vegetable had a different cook time for me, so I would recommend monitoring and poking around a little to assess when the vegetables are soft to your liking. My final product included some water at the bottom of my baking dish, but this did not translate to a watery moussaka. The sauce was super creamy, and the feta was a delicious touch. Plus, my apartment smells amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Oh WOW! This was delicious. Time consuming but well worth the effort! I used my grill pan for the veggies. Had a small round seedless eggplant and yukon gold potatoes but omitted the zucchini-didn't have any. Also used about jarred spaghetti sauce instead of tomatoes 'cause I didn't have them either. Turned out great! Next time I'm gonna try this with ground lamb. Thanks Constantina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Weymouth Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I have made Moussaka a few times before....and I have been hesitant to make it for the last couple of years, because it is such a heavy dish. Your idea of grilling the veggies is just what I needed. I'm going to start making it again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States