Grilled Eggplant Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by jannyintn
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I roasted the eggplant in the oven as it was too cold outside to grill. Made no difference as far as I can tell. The white sauce recipe is generous and the instructions are easy to follow. This one's going to be a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Delicious! I only used 1 eggplant and 2 zucchini and my pan barely had enough room with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe. Itried it with lamb also. Exceptional...Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This was my first attempt at moussaka - delicious!!! It was creamy and hearty, but not at all heavy. The quantities seemed huge at first, but fit perfectly together into my large lasagne dish. The only changes I made were to add garlic (3 cloves) to the mince, as well as some thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. I made some variations to see if I could make it even healthier - using Meat Crumbles from MorningStar (soy), skim milk and pam spray instead of olive oil. I also used only about 1/2 the white sauce I prepared based on the recipe's quantities. The end product was delicious! I calculated approximately 250 calories per hefty serving with these changes. Thanks for the GREAT healthy variation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Very good! I doctored up the gravy (bechamel) with a little parmesan cheese and sprinkled a little parmesan on top of each veggie layer. I followed another reviewer's suggestion to use onion soup mix instead of onion - it was a very nice flavor boost. Next time I may try it without to get a more traditional meat sauce. Ground turkey worked great and halving the recipe still gave us plenty leftovers for hubby and I. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
WOW! Although this dish is a little bit time consuming, it is not difficult and it worth every minute! I followed the advice of some other ratings and I oven roasted my veggies in some olive oil, and instead of using fresh tomatoes, I used some leftover homemade tomato sauce. It was better than the moussaka at my local Greek food festival!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I use 2 square 9x9 pans, and I prepared the veggies and the meat as directed. I made the bechamel sauce for one pan, and froze the other without bechamel sauce. This is an excellent alternative to lasagna when you don't have the pasta or ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I made this last night.. How delish is this? I added motzerrella cheese instead of feta.. Yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SABUYUKCAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I can't praise this recipe enough! I made it exactly as written because I wanted to get an authentic flavor. What I got was a masterpiece! I preferred the grilled vegetables to fried. My family LOVED this dish, and I know I'll be making it again soon. It's well worth the time and effort to make it right, with no shortcuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States