Grilled Eggplant Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BarbZ
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Very tasty! I have made moussaka for years but this is the best recipe for updated tastes. I did use ground lamb for a more authentic flavor, upping the fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
What a delicious moussaka! I didn't change a thing. I loved it and my husband too. By following the directions I managed to (successfully) make bechamel sauce from scratch for the time ever :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieliseCanada

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
this recipe takes forever! More than 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Absolutely delicious as is! Could add a little more spice/flavour to the meat. I roasted the veggies in the oven at 375 F and used venison instead of beef. I added a little garlic to the meat and used parsley flakes (from lack of fresh parsley). It was my first time making béchamel sauce and it turned out great (be careful not to let it burn and don't be too cheap on the nutmeg) and the amount was perfect. I worried that it wouldn't all fit in the 9x13" dish but it filled exactly to the top and didn't spill over while cooking. It took me 2 hrs to prepare + the 30 mins final cooktime. I enjoyed making it and we really enjoyed eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
If you love to cook this is fun to make but does take time. On the second attempt I boiled the potatoes and put foil and olive oil on the grill to cook the eggplant and zucchini. My grown son who is a picky eater asked why I didn't make MORE! Well worth the time it takes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I did not like this at all. Not sure if I missed something in the recipe or if it was really that bad. Ive had Moussaka in restaurants and loved it so I know what its supposed to taste like. I would not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
THe concept was interesting, but the result disappointing. THis took a lot of work, but seemed dry and tastless. Have tried a baked, not fried moussaka which seemed to do lower-fat better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
My boyfriend's brother hates eating veggies, and dislikes eggplant. I never told what was in it and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
First time making moussaka and this wasn't what I remembered from Greece. I learned a few things making this and might try a different recipe next time. I sliced my zucchini too thick, so its flavor was too strong in each bite. I almost burnt the zucchini and eggplant on the grill (its too far from the kitchen) so need to do the first couple things one at a time instead of all at once. I cooked the potatoes on the grill in a grill dish (don't know what it's called, a square metal dish with holes to BBQ with) and that worked great so they didn't overcook. Not enough nutmeg in here - couldn't even taste it and I used more than a pinch. Don't need to use olive oil to cook the ground beef. My sauce didn't come out great. Not sure why. It wasn't as thick as I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This is a good moussaka recipe but bland and a bit cumbersome. I used only 2 lg eggplant, no zucchini. Vegetable Changes:I sliced the eggplant in to 1/4 in slices, spritzed with olive oil spray and baked in a 400 oven for 10 minutes on a parchment lined pan. I boiled the potato slices for 4 minutes. Bechamel was good and only change I made was way more than a pinch of nutmeg, 1/4 teaspoon is more like it. Meat/Sauce changes: Peeled the tomatoes. Added 1 t cinnamon, 1/4 t ground allspice, and a pinch of ground clove. Added two cloves of garlic, minced to the sautee. Omitted parsley because I didnt feel like going back to the garden and my son brought me cilantro by mistake when I sent him. Added 1 T tomato paste and a 1/4 c red wine. I thought sauce looked runny so I thickened with a slurry of 2T water and 2 t cornstarch. WIth my changes it is a 5 stars. It makes an enormous quantity, but that is OK because it freezes well. I took the leftovers, and chilled in fridge. I cut into serving size slabs and wrapped in a double layer of wax paper. Shoved all the wrapped slabs in a labelled ziploc bag. Now I have excellent lunches to go. Take a slab to work and it defrost in time to heat nicely in a microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States