Grilled Delmonico Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Okay, this is my third time making this marinade and I've decided no salt is required. With the salt in the soy sauce and steak seasoning there's already plenty. FINALLY I'VE GOT IT JUST RIGHT. Mmmmmmmmmmmm, this is great! THIS IS 1ST REVIEW I'm not a rosemary fan, so instead opted for 1/2 T. tarragon and 1/2 T. thyme. I wish I had read the reviews before making, don't get me wrong this has exceptional flavor, but way way way too salty. I could practically feel my ankles swelling. I'm wondering if maybe it should have been 2 teaspoons of salt rather then two tablespoons? With the soy sauce (which is already salty) it was a bit of a salt overkill, but I will definitely make it again, and again and again, just cut back the sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
259 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYKATS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Malaga, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
While no marinade will ever compare to using no marinade at all, this one was particularly excellent. Given that the marinade ingredients were very similar to the seasonings Hubs uses for his grilled steaks, I kind of suspected it would be. I used fresh rosemary rather than dried and eliminated the salt completely. The salt called for was not only unnecessary, but extraordinarily excessive, which is why this recipe falls one star short of perfect. Otherwise, a rich and flavorful marinade that definitely complemented, rather than overpowered, our steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
This was excellent! I just put dumped the marinade into a Ziploc, put the steak in, sealed and turned every now and then. I didn't like the idea of pricking the steak because I didn't want to loose ANY juices so I found that marinating over night or at least 8 hours worked great. I also added some liquid smoke and replaced half of the Worcestershire sauce with red wine, just my personal preference. However, I don't think the salt and pepper are necessary in the marinade, just add it later after cooking if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Wow these soaked up the marinade and were so good! Took the advice of other reviewers and left out the salt completely and used low sodium soy sauce. I added a little brown sugar. These were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Ohhh Boy this one is salty!! Just looking at the recipe and knowing that steak seasoning and soy sauce are both extremely salty I did not add the 2 tbsp of salt listed and it was still way tooo much... and I love my salt. I am going to try this again since I did like the flavour but I'm going to eliminate the steak seasoning and use low sodium soy. I think it'll be what I was expecting then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
TERRIBLY SALTY! The steak were tender by marinating, but completely unedible---which is more than disappointing when you're working with steaks that cost 10 bucks a piece. I would also not use rosemary--unless it is pureed. The rosemary was tough like pine needles in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
This was the greatest tasting steak I have had in a long time. I purchased a T-Bone and only left it merinate for an hour and a half but man it was good. I did take the advise of others and left out the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This was good. I would reccomend halfing the salt and adding two tablespoons of brown sugar, whaich would make this recipe a true five star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA
Living In: Crater Lake, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
Made for dinner tonight...absolutely delicious. I reduced the amount of salt (per the advice of other reviewers). Hubby loved this...and asked me to make again and again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
Some of the best steaks I've ever had! Because I didn't have steak sauce, I used BBQ sauce - it added an amazing flavor to the steaks. The BBQ sauce must have aided in cutting down the salt that everyone else complained about because I thought they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniBanani

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Grilled Halibut Steaks with Corn and Chanterelle

Grilled halibut steaks with a mushroom and sweet corn relish.

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States