Grilled Delmonico Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This recipe was good because I read previous reviews and omitted the salt. Even without the salt my son thought it was a tad bit salty. I like salty foods so I didn't mind but next time I will use reduced sodium soy sauce. I did use reduced sodium steak seasoning (McCormick's Montreal). Also, I marinated for 3 hours and the flavor definitely soaked through. I recommend you try this recipe but definitely omit the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Per other reviewers, I used this marinade for a lesser cut of meat (a large chuck roast steak) that was on sale. I marinated overnight in a ziploc bag. Followed other reviewers suggestions and left out the salt. However, I did not have low sodium soy sauce. The result was a tad salty still, but still edible. For the steak seasoning I used the Montreal kind which has a decent amount of salt in it as it is. Overall, I did not like the taste of the marinade even if I took some more steps to reduce the extra salt content/taste. I really wanted to like this, but I will not attempt again. Aside from the saltiness, it was a mish-mash of flavor, nothing stand out or good about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I only marinated this for an hour in a ziploc and it still turned great. Was it salty Yep. I couldn't stop eating it was so good. If you like a marinade with good flavor and salty. This is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This was great! Great flavor, easy to make, served to dinner guests & everyone loved it. Omitted salt completely, used reduced sodium soy sauce, was able to marinate for about 8 hours. Cooked on a George Foreman grill for 7 minutes @ medium setting, and my steak came out perfectly medium cooked. (I wasn't able to afford rib eye steaks, and this worked wonderfully on a less expensive cut of beef.) My boyfriend wants me to use this marinade for hamburgers now, too. :) I'm thinking pork chops, chicken....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This recipe has waaay too much salt! I should of read the reviews before I ruined 2 expensive steaks. There was no way I could eat the steak - it was so salty. I'm not sure I would make this again but if I did, I would omit the salt and the steak seasoning, and use only 2 T of soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Best steak marinade EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Don't add any salt! These are wonderful....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was great with rib eye steak. I was only able to marinate it for 3 hours but it was really good! I followed the advice of others and left out the salt and used low-sodium soy sauce. This one is a keeper. I plan on using this on london broil as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hs in so cal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
The flavor might have been really great if it weren't for the SALT! Holy cow! Between the soy sauce and the steak seasoning, it really doesn't need any more. My husband ate his steak, but mine was basically inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Great marinade, although drop the salt, there's enough already, i added less than half a can of bud light as well..... Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommy*of *twins
Home Town: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Grilled Halibut Steaks with Corn and Chanterelle

Grilled halibut steaks with a mushroom and sweet corn relish.

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States