Grilled Delmonico Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Holy Moly this way salty! I wanted to eliminate the salt but I ran out of soy sauce after adding only 2 tbs so I only put 1 tbs of salt and it still came out super salty. But...it was still yummy. My 7 yr old son couldn't stop tasting the marinade after we blended it :) will make again only leaving out the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Wow. Let me say it again, wow! I will preface my review by stating, emphatically, the LTHs have always been firm proponents of "naked" steaks. We love great red meat and see no need to "sully" it w/extraneous stuff. However, I've been on a trying new recipes kick and decided to give this a shot w/our first delmonicos from our fresh side of beef. I followed the recipe to a "T", including the salt (though I did use sea salt as it's all we have/use) and leaving out the steak sauce because it's just not something we buy/use. Oh, and I halved the recipe for 2 steaks. Awesome. Both Mr. LTH and I commented multiple times how great our steaks were (in part to this stellar marinade and in part to Mr. LTH's stellar grilling skills). The only change I'll make when I use this again (and we WILL be using this again) is to reduce the rosemary because I'm just a rosemary fan and the flavor bordered on predominant. Many reviewers mention the salt. As a general rule, I salt each bite of steak as I eat it. I had no need for the salt shaker w/these; they were seasoned perfectly (I double checked w/Mr. LTH, as he's not a saltaholic, and he confirmed they were just right and not too salty). THANKS, MACAW06, for showing me there's more to life than "naked" steaks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This recipe is wonderful! My husband asks me to make it almost every week. I agree with the others, though - definitely no need for salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
These were very good and I wasn't even able to barbeque them. I will definately make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Made for the 1st time tonight...DELISH! I hadn't read any reviews, but by looking at ingredients, ignored the salt and used low sodium soy sauce and it tasted great. Let it marinade overnight until the next evening and was perfect. We will put this in our regular rotation. Tender!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Outstanding! Will definitely be grilling my steak this way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This was great! I just mixed the seasonings in a bowl, put the steaks in a baking dish, allowed them to marinate in the seasoning for about a half hour in the fridge (that's all I had), and baked the steaks in the oven, in the seasoning. It was great! My hubby told me to save this recipe, he loved it! I did omit the salt and I didn't have any steak seasoning, and it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
taste really good just don't use but a pinch of salt. I used 1/2 of what was suggested and it still was too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This was delicious. Very flavorful and will be my new go to recipe for steak marinade. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drea Drea

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I made 1/4 of this recipe yesterday and marinated a huge NY strip steak for about 9-10 hours. Our steak was close to a pound, but 1/4 of the recipe was plenty of marinade. Based on other reviewers, I didn’t add any salt, and I used lite soy sauce, but we still thought it was too salty – and we like our salt. I used fresh rosemary and processed the marinade with my emersion blender, which made this a snap to put together. I will definitely make this again, omitting the salt again, but I’ll also cut the steak seasoning in half, as it is loaded with salt. This complimented the flavor of the meat beautifully without overpowering it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Grilled Halibut Steaks with Corn & Chanterelles

Grilled halibut steaks with a mushroom and sweet corn relish.

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States