Grilled Delmonico Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This is the best steak marinade, bar none, that I have ever used. I usually prefer my steaks without any adornment, but this recipe has converted me. BUT . . . do NOT use the salt called for. You don't need even a pinch of salt in this recipe due to the addition of soy sauce and worcestershire sauce, both of which are quite salty all on their own (which is why I use the low sodium version of both sauces). I have used this marinade on many types of steak, all turned out juicy, tender and super delicious (as long as you leave out that salt!) lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Excellent marinade but OMIT the added salt!!! I only udpsed 1 tsp of salt and i still had to add a cup of white wine to cut the salt in the final marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHECOOKS2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
My husband and I LOVED this marinade (my first). I decided not to use the 2 tablespoons salt as others recommended and it turned out wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Awesome! Like the other reviewers I left out the salt completely and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Excellent flavor. Followed exactly and the flavor was amazing. I'm trying this on portobellos tonight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Holy Moly this way salty! I wanted to eliminate the salt but I ran out of soy sauce after adding only 2 tbs so I only put 1 tbs of salt and it still came out super salty. But...it was still yummy. My 7 yr old son couldn't stop tasting the marinade after we blended it :) will make again only leaving out the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Wow. Let me say it again, wow! I will preface my review by stating, emphatically, the LTHs have always been firm proponents of "naked" steaks. We love great red meat and see no need to "sully" it w/extraneous stuff. However, I've been on a trying new recipes kick and decided to give this a shot w/our first delmonicos from our fresh side of beef. I followed the recipe to a "T", including the salt (though I did use sea salt as it's all we have/use) and leaving out the steak sauce because it's just not something we buy/use. Oh, and I halved the recipe for 2 steaks. Awesome. Both Mr. LTH and I commented multiple times how great our steaks were (in part to this stellar marinade and in part to Mr. LTH's stellar grilling skills). The only change I'll make when I use this again (and we WILL be using this again) is to reduce the rosemary because I'm just a rosemary fan and the flavor bordered on predominant. Many reviewers mention the salt. As a general rule, I salt each bite of steak as I eat it. I had no need for the salt shaker w/these; they were seasoned perfectly (I double checked w/Mr. LTH, as he's not a saltaholic, and he confirmed they were just right and not too salty). THANKS, MACAW06, for showing me there's more to life than "naked" steaks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This recipe is wonderful! My husband asks me to make it almost every week. I agree with the others, though - definitely no need for salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
These were very good and I wasn't even able to barbeque them. I will definately make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Made for the 1st time tonight...DELISH! I hadn't read any reviews, but by looking at ingredients, ignored the salt and used low sodium soy sauce and it tasted great. Let it marinade overnight until the next evening and was perfect. We will put this in our regular rotation. Tender!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Grilled Halibut Steaks with Corn and Chanterelle

Grilled halibut steaks with a mushroom and sweet corn relish.

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States