Grilled Delmonico Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
2 tablespoons of salt was WAY too much. One teaspoon would have probably been enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Elgin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
OH so Good i deleted the salt also and was delicious. Everybody loved this marinade
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
It is salty because the ingrediants almost all use salt i.e. Worcestershire, salt, steak seasoning and more steak sauce...don't get me wroong as they are all good but togeather they produce too much salt and...btw anchovies (salt) to boot...but it's a good recipe to start with just add one of the sauces...happy 4th
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbqstud

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Poway, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
As recommended, I did not add any of the salt to the recipe. It was absolutely great. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
The marinade was ok. My family liked this, and it cooked pretty well, but it wasn't outstanding. To give this 5 stars would require me wanting to make it again, and make it for friends/family - and I don't. Sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I made it myself. And, as a 13 year old girl, I have to say that it was a very....oh..how should I put it...the best steaks I've ever made myself! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This was great! Amaris, you should be embarrassed at your rating. You obviously did not try it. You just gave it the lowest rating because you have an opinion. The rating is different than a review. Your low rating brought this rating down and for what? Your opinion? Some of us do not buy "cheaper" meats and love a new flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glrivera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
The most edible steak I have cooked and served. Will have to have over and over again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Way too much salt for us. Could not give a higher rating because of that and the method of cooking the meat. For the salt, I cut back to 1 tsp instead of the 6 tsp (1 Tablespoon = 3 tsps!) Should have cut out the salt entirely as previous reviews suggested. Also, I appreciate there are many methods that people swear by to cook a steak but prefer to flip a steak during cooking. Not just cooking one side for 10 minutes then cooking the other for 10... I work in catering and one chef told me about "molecular gastronomy" and the principle behind turning meat often while cooking it. From what I have been taught if you cook the meat for too long on one side you force the juices right out of the meat. Watch the meat next time you bbq it on the one side for half the cook time. You will observe juices collecting on the top portion of the meat - then turn the meat and drop those juices into the bbq. The idea is to turn the meat before the juices start escaping from it to keep it inside and keep the meat as tender as you can. I use a timer and turn every couple of minutes. Used to drive me nuts to see cooks flipping steaks like they had some nervous tick! Now I see why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
made without the salt and tasted just fine..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Grilled Halibut Steaks with Corn and Chanterelle

Grilled halibut steaks with a mushroom and sweet corn relish.

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States