Grilled Cornish Game Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This is an amazing recipe. I made this as a substitute for turkey thanksgiving. The flavor was amazing. I can't wait to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drea Drea

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Photo by COUNTRYRAY
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
excellent, but double the marinade, and save 1/4 of it for basting. Made for Thanksgiving dinner.....all I can say is WOW.....so very good....don't skimp on the lemon.....I used even the pulp, and with rosemary sprigs, garlic and onion.....pulverized it all in my Vitamix and let sit overnight before applying to bird....wow....lets just say they ate it all....and loved it....requests are already in for Christmas dinner. mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYRAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
GREAT recipe! I love grilling and I love Cornish hens so I made it for Thanksgiving and I was so happy with the way they tasted. My husband loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Desoto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This recipe replaced one that we've been using for over 15 years. The flavors are absolutely incredible. It's best on the BBQ, but if weather turns bad (we can get early-evening monsoons) it can be baked in the oven. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I made it according to directions and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This was a really good, simple marinade that doesn't overpower the delicate flavor of the game hens. The only things I did differently was that instead of plain black pepper added garlic pepper; and a teaspoon of fresh rosemary because I had some on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon Richards

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Turned out ok. The flavor almost overpowerd the meat. I would cut back on the time is marinates next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
VERY GOOD and as an added bonus its so simple! My daughter who is 17 months doesn't really like meat but she loved this. When I first read the ingredients I was a little worried of it being too lemony but the flavor is great and the meat is juicy. I cant wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This recipe was AWESOME! I only had 2 hours to marinate the hens but they still turned out great...I can't imagine how good they would taste after being marinated for 4 hours. The only change that I made was I did 2 tbsps of Worcestershire sauce and 1 tbsp of Hot Pepper sauce. Other than that I followed the recipe as is. I will probably never bake a Cornish Hen again after using this recipe...family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Very nice. I let the hens marinate overnight, saved the marinate, reduced it, added some hot pepper jelly and used it as a glaze during grilling. Quick, good and easy to fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Grilled Game Hens

This spicy, creamy, garlicky marinade is great for game hens or chicken pieces.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States