Grilled Corn on the Cob Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2005
There are few things that scream "SUMMER" like grilled corn on the cob. I do mine a little differntly than this however, and it is fantastic! First of all, DO NOT remove the husks - they are vital to the flavor and cooking process. Only peel a little bit back to make sure you do not have a bad one. You can tear off any long silk that is sticking out, but do not worry about the ones inside (they come off easily after they are cooked). Put the corn in a cooler or bucket large enough to hold them all and completely cover with clean water. Allow them to soak for at least an hour or up to several hours and keep turning them because they float. When it comes time to cook, quickly drain the excess water out the tops and put them on a hot grill for approximately 30 minutes. Be sure to turn them every 5 minutes or so and rotate them around the grill too. The husks will burn and some may even catch on fire - this is normal. Remove any husks that fall off. The corn itself will not burn because it is being steamed from the inside due to the soaking (as long as you rotate them). Also, do not put directly on hot coals - this will surely cause burn spots. Once the husks are mostly all blackened, remove from grill, and husk. Most of the silk, if not all, will come off at this time They will stay hot for at least 30 minutes as long as the husks are left on, and be carefull not to burn your hands while husking. Season to taste with butter, salt, pepper, or whatever you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2346 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
The corn was excellent...sweet and juicy. For some of you who had trouble getting your corn done quick enough,here's a hint that applies to any food that's wrapped in foil. In this case, wrap the corn-on-the-cob with the shiny side in. This keeps the heat in and helps to cook faster. With the shiny side out, the foil is reflecting more of the heat...so longer cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1821 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
We love this recipe but, but really prefer a similar method that also gives you moist, tender corn: Soak ears of corn (in the husks) in water for at least 30 minutes. Arrange on hot grill. Dip an old bath towel in water, wring it out until it no longer drips. Place over the corn. Close grill top. (The towel won't burn). Let the corn cook 15-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
865 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Simple and delicious. Tip: A friend of mine convinced me to NOT bother removing the silk before cooking - said "Once it's done, you just grab it from the top before husking, and it all comes out in one piece!" I was skeptical - but he was RIGHT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
499 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Farnsworth Sattel
Home Town: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
The only thing I do different, is I soak my corn in water first, then I use strips of the husk to tie the husk around the corn and grill, I omit the foil, that way the corn can get more of the flavor of the grill while cooking, and the pre soak in cold water keeps the husk from burning while cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
386 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I took off the silk of the corn and submerged the corn (with the shuck still on) in water for a couple of hours. I then pulled back the shuck just enough to brush on some melted butter with seasoned salt. I put the shuck back over the corn and covered it tightly with foil( shiny side facing in) I put it on the pit for 40 to 45 min. turning every 5 min. and it turned out very tender. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I had several ears of corn so I did it both this way AND the way the other comments suggest with leaving the husks on. I soaked all corn, husked half and wrapped in foil with butter, and the other half I just placed directly on the charcoal grill. Aside from the mess of husking the super hot flaky husks, no one could actually taste a difference. I would suggest to do which ever method sounds easiest to you. p.s. if you change the ENTIRE recipe, why rate this one? That's like me rating this one but discussing how I make fried rice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I followed the advise of the other reviews and soaked the corn in water with the husks on for an hour then grilled them for 1/2 hour, turning every 5 mins. they turned out PERFECT. but had nothing to do with the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This was my favorite item at our cookout yesterday. After taking the silk off the corn (with the husks still attached) soak them in cold water for a couple hours; then you won't have to wrap them in foil but can cook them directly on the grill. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NERDYCHEESECAKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Everyone when rating this review actually talks about a completely different method of cooking the corn, and then gives it 5 stars. I don't get it. I'm reviewing this exact recipe. I didn't soak the corn. I didn't do anything. I peeled the husks back, put butter and salt on it, wrapped them in foil, and grilled. The corn was EXCELLENT. Seriously. Delicious. This recipe is great exactly as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States