Grilled Corn on the Cob Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Don't bother cooking for 30 mins. Cook too long will make your corn tough. Great idea though to butter then rewrap!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danas
Home Town: Kensington, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This recipe doesn't work well as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I have tried this method several times and like it. However I prefer to remove all of the silk and husk, coat the corn with olive oil and a good grilling rub and grill "naked". The corn is much sweeter and has, I think, better flavor. My dad used to call this "Indian Corn".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I soak the corn with the husks on for at least 2 hours. I then grill as is for 35 to 45 minutes. Then husk and then allow eater to butter and season. Many of us have different tastes that is why I don't butter or season for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Good basic recipe. The only thing I do differently is to soak the corn in water for about 1/2 hour before all of the other stuff. I think it makes the corn more tender as it is being steamed in it's own husk. Try it you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msouleusa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Parksville, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Yes I have to agree with another review. You must soak the corn, and the silk comes off with the husk. Removing silk prior is unneccessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
After living in Greece and seeing first hand a lot of street vendors cooking corn on small grills, I use this method: Heat the grill to 300º F. Peel back husks and scrub off silk with a brush in the sink. Coat each ear with olive oil or butter, (spread the butter cold or warm it up and brush it on) I prefer olive oil. Fresh ground pepper to taste. I don't add salt. Fold the husks back to form a handle. Some people use rubber bands to hold the husks together, I've seen street vendors do a decorative weave to the husk. Bread ties or vegetable bands work too. Use these "husk Handles" to move the corn around and rotate them every 5 to 7 minutes. Some ears cook faster because it has thinner cob and or corn. Place the ears on the grill so the husks hang over and outside the grill edge and towards you. Close the grill over the corn while it cooks. Husks stay cool and green. I usually like my corn browned good, with the grill marks. Takes around 30 minutes at 300º. Every grill is different. Get a dial type oven thermometer if your grill isn't already equipped. If you're handy you can buy a grill thermometer at home improvement stores and drill a hole for it. Helps a lot and it allows me to cook a lot of things on the grill with more confidence in the outcome. Cut off the husk ends and serve, or trim the husks down to a few good strong pieces with shears, add a corn holder to the other end and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by copterdriver

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
We have tried this several times with the husks on, but found it hard to get the silk out without soaking the corn which can lead to the corn popping, oddly enough. Now we shuck the corn, baste it with homemade garlic infused olive oil we make ourselves and a bit of mashed roasted garlic, fresh ground/cracked pepper, sea salt flakes(our personal kinds are red, pink and black salts), and pop them on the grill at medium heat until they start to caramelize and the corn lets off this amazing aroma. we also use the garlic infused olive oil(we make a few batches every 2-3 months since it gets used in salads, chicken with fresh lemon and/or lime juice(the best chicken ever with a bit of brown sugar for browning), and on the ourside of sweet potatoes pricked and wrapped in foil and baked on the grill. The oil also makes a great dressing for a corn, black bean, tomato, and any other veggie you might have around in the fridge with a good grain like a wheat berry or lentils for those that are gluten free. We usually do a dozen ears, and what does not get eaten either gets frozen or made into a salad for dinner the next day or thrown into corn bread. it makes the BEST cornbread ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I was told by a fellow coworker about this recipe and it is great! I like it much better than boiling and it has a lot more flavor. It is so easy to make. Try it, you'll like it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I have always grilled my corn. Unless you feel the need, there is no reason to peel the corn and add the butter. Simply soak the corn in water for a few minutes and grill. This is a huge time saver. Add the butter after the corn is cooked and husked. I did this for a luncheon and I was shocked by the number of people who thought this was a "new" technique. Grillen' ears as we call them are quick, easy and hard to beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States