Grilled Corn on the Cob Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Great way to prepare corn and utilize a hot grill. I made the recipe exactly as written and it was delicious. We grilled burgers and put the corn on at the same time. Both were finished cooking in 30 minutes. We will be using this recipe a few more times during the corn season. Thanks Sueteitsma for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I was taught by my Grandaddy when they still had Ice Boxes! He'd put his fresh picked corn in the ice box for a couple of hours, start a fire in the fire pit, and throw enough ears of corn on for everyone. He never soaked them in water nor peel the husk and remove the silk (part of the corn, he'd say, adds to the flavor) but keep rolling them around on the grill every five minutes or so... yes, some of the outer husks will burn. Keep turning and cooking for 30 to 45 minutes. Take them off the grill, let sit for about 5 minutes, then wrap them in a dishtowel and snap off the stalk part first and de-husk. The silk and husk just dropped off! Butter and salt to taste and mmm-mmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
easy and delicious! i soak mine in water 30 min. (seems to make it juicy) before going on grill. and have also substituted butter with mayo, adding sprinkle of chili powder. never boil corn again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I leave the husks on. Grill 'em after soaking for the allotted time. When done I peel back the husk, remove silk and then roll the whole thing in mayo, instead of butter, and then roll in Cotija cheese that has been crumbled up good. Squeeze a little fresh lime juice on and OLE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbqstud

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Poway, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Don't bother cooking for 30 mins. Cook too long will make your corn tough. Great idea though to butter then rewrap!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danas
Home Town: Kensington, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This recipe doesn't work well as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I have tried this method several times and like it. However I prefer to remove all of the silk and husk, coat the corn with olive oil and a good grilling rub and grill "naked". The corn is much sweeter and has, I think, better flavor. My dad used to call this "Indian Corn".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I soak the corn with the husks on for at least 2 hours. I then grill as is for 35 to 45 minutes. Then husk and then allow eater to butter and season. Many of us have different tastes that is why I don't butter or season for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Good basic recipe. The only thing I do differently is to soak the corn in water for about 1/2 hour before all of the other stuff. I think it makes the corn more tender as it is being steamed in it's own husk. Try it you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msouleusa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Parksville, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Yes I have to agree with another review. You must soak the corn, and the silk comes off with the husk. Removing silk prior is unneccessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States