Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Thank you Chef John. Didn't know what skirt steak was but do now !!! Amazing amazing. I couldn't believe how tender it was. And so delicious. I got rave reviews from my family. Already planning next time to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I couldn't find a skirt steak so I used a flank steak. Only marinated it for 5 hours and it was STILL yummy. The whole family loved the reduced marinade and made good use of it. Will definitely make this again. Confession time: Didn't have rice vinegar so I used Sake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Marinade was excellent. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This is the best steak marinade! Everyone loved it! I used red pepper flakes instead of hot sauce, just a few, it gave it a nice flavor and I could control the hotness. Will do this one for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Don't let the name of this recipe fool you, it's awesome. I couldn't find skirt beef so I used flap meat. It was marinated for 24 hours and grilled to perfection. The reserve sauce wasn't as easy to make as the video indicated, at least for me. My family however are still raving about it and the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Usually love Chef Johns stuff, and this was perfectly satisfactory, but sooooooo average. Followed recipe exactly except used red wine vinegar instead of rice because that's what I had on hand. The steak was very tender and very juicy, but did not think the marinade added anything. It just tasted of watered down sugar water with a little rosemary. It was okay, but certainly nothing special, unfortunately. Sorry Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRACHEL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
First recipe of Chef John's I didn't like. Something was very off about the marinade/sauce. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
The marinade was fantastic. Skirt steak was NOT juicy and tender. Like leather. Will use marinade again on another cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I DID NOT CARE FOR THIS AT ALL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcelle Lowder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I am compelled to write this review to let everyone know DO NOT LET ANOTHER BBQ SEASON GO BY WITHOUT MAKING THIS RECIPE!!! Did you hear me??? I mean this recipe's marinade/sauce is the true star. It is a blend that does not resemble cola, coffee, hot sauce in any fashion in the end, yet combined and set, then cooked resembles a sauce that will make you a star!!! If you are afraid of heat, then back off the hot sauce, and cayenne pepper. DO NOT omit them, as they are a intricate part of the flavor, simple add a drop or two of hot sauce, and the pinch of cayenne! I served "Roasted Parmesan Rosemary Potatoes" and "Grilled Vidalia Onions" (recipes from this site) with this steak, but I do plan on making this steak many times more this summer. I then plan on making this marinade/sauce for a stuffed round steak recipe that I have in the fall and winter!!! I have followed Chef John for a while now, but I am now a devoted fan!! Thanks for the easy, flavorful, star making recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States