Grilled Citrus Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
As written, there was little flavor to the marinade so I rated ok. Next time, as suggested, I'll reduce the oil and increase marinade time. One adjustment due to allergies was to use papaya juice instead of orange. Pan fried ~5 mins each side. Definitely cook down marinade. I also added GF soy sauce and brown mustard. After adjustments, awesome! Served with kale. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amiddl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This is really good. As written, I felt that the amount of olive oil was excessive and I felt that it could have used some lemon or lime juice for balance. I have a tiny kitchen and I juice daily so I made use of my juicer for a few changes. I used a blood orange and a Meyer lemon ,half the olive oil and one teaspoon of soy sauce for the marinade. I wanted some rice and broccoli with this so I used my rice cooker for the rice and steamed the broccoli and tuna in the steamer basket To keep the flavor I put the tuna in a small plate with some of the marinade that I had boiled down a bit to thicken. I topped each tuna steak with two tbsp of thickened marinade. The steamer kept everything moist and delicious. I don't like my fish or meat undercooked so I steamed for about 10 minutes and they were cooked through and flaked easily. Sorry I hate it when cooks rate a recipe after they have changed so much of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This was delish, Thank You . Became the main tuna dish in my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Probably this recip would have been fine. However, I purchased previously frozen tuna steaks and they lacked the flavour and texture of fresh. My supermarket informed me that because of the overfishing problem with tuna, we should expect to see previously frozen tuna more often...I am very sad because I love fresh tuna...this tuna was blah. Sea Delight at IGA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I actually made this with salmon because it's what we had, and baked it instead of using the grill. It was amazing! Word to the wise... marinate the fish for several hours. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I always add lemon as well. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsfield, Maine, USA
Living In: Windham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This is the only way I prepare tuna. It is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
very nice and ez to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti A

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
First time making tuna steaks, I thought that the marinade was pretty good, although next time I'll probably let it sit overnight since I could only really taste the citrus flavor along the edges of the steak. I used a foreman grill and served with couscous & corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morganville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Tuna was a bit dry, and the flavors from the marinade didn't seem to penetrate the meat - I even poured some of the marinade on the tuna while BBQing it, and only barely got a hint of the citrus flavor. I think next time I would set it in the marinade overnight or something. The flavor was good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States