Grilled Chipotle Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I cut a sweet potato into chunks, and then mixed everything in a plastic bag before spreading on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet. I baked these at 375 for about 20 minutes! Delicious! We will have to make some more soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Salty, sweet, spicy, all in one bite! These are delicious! Such an interesting blend of flavors. I only cooked the potatoes in the microwave for 6 mins and they were starting to get mushy, so I think 10 mins would be much too long. The only thing I noticed was that they seemed to be slightly dry, so next time I will make extra sauce so I can baste them more often. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I thought this was such an interesting recipe I had to try it. I'm glad I did because they were very tasty. Be sure not to cook your sweet potatoes too long in the microwave or they will be mushy when you cut them and won't grill as well. Cook just till just barely fork tender and then slice them up. It didn't say to peel them first but I did. If you are cooking something else on your grill it would be hard to make these for a large family, unless you have a huge grill. I served with Kickin' Turkey Burgers with Carmelized Onions from this site and we dipped them into the sauce recipe for the burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
These had a very interesting flavour. I used sweet and regular potatoes. I found the microwave time for the sweeti potatoes to be way too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
It's not a "Wow!!!" flavor statement, but it is nice. DH, who does not like his sweet potatoes messed with, actually reached for the second part of his serving. (He had opted for a tiny taste-and-see portion on the first round.) I adjusted serving size to 2 and used a farily large sweet potato. I ended up using about four minutes on high in our microwave for the pre-cook phase. Meanwhile, I mixed the spices, vinegar and oil in a zip lock bag; later placing the "fingers" of par-baked potato into the bag for a shake-to-coat application ahead of grilling the requisite time. This was easy and was a nice alternative to butter and cinnamon. We will do again. (This time we served with a spinach salad and grilled steaks.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
these where really really good put them on the grill with the steaks husband and the kids liked alot was surprise my 5 year old ate them you know veggies and all picky eater that one i am going to make these as a side dish alot did i mention they where delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I'm always looking for new and exciting ways to try sweet potatoes and I was really hoping this would be it. Unfortunately, we did not care this one that much. It was just average....none of the flavors stuck out. Maybe with some tweaking it would have reached the wow factor or I think if I found a good dipping sauce then we would have enjoyed it more. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I'm always looking for a hearty new sweet potato recipe that doesn't have any sugar. I'll be giving this recipe a try very soon- it sounds delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonefishn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I took Sueb's advice and cut the sweet potato up and baked it in the mix. This is usually my preferred method for fries but I can guarantee that you will have soggy sweet potatoes at 375 degrees. You have to bake them at a much hotter setting. I liked it but there are other recipes on here with a more complex flavor of herbs and spices for sweet potatoes. My oldest son did not like it at all. The rest of us did but mostly because I made a chipotle/lemon dip to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
These were so good!!! The smell before cooking was great and the finished product was amazing! As another user recommended, I cubed the potatoes, mixed ingredients in a bag and baked at 375 for 30 minutes. I will make these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Grilled Veggie Sandwich and Potato Salad

This grilled sandwich is so hearty, you could almost call it "meaty."

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States