Grilled Chipotle Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
My husband LOVES these (getting him to eat anything other than meat and white potatoes is hard, so kudos!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatmaliscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Really enjoyed these potatoes. I made this recipe using 2 sweet potatoes and 2 Yukon Gold potatoes. The microwave time for the sweet potatoes was a little long. The second time I made them I stopped at 8 minutes and I liked the texture of the potatoes better at 8 minutes. The spices are very nice on both potatoes, and you can increase the 'heat' by upping the chipotle chile powder, if you like. Loved the taste the grilling added. I served this with "Doreen's Ham Slices on the Grill", another AR recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Used 1/2 of the oil. Pre cooked 6 minutes. Cut in wedges unpeeled. Grilled on foil. Excellent recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
pretty good. baked for 45 mins at 400 degrees instead of microwaving, but it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Good, but I think these would have been better in the oven and with a bit more spice (obvously my preference). Husband and kids didn`t like them. We all usually love grilled veggies so thought this would win them all but not this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I took Sueb's advice and cut the sweet potato up and baked it in the mix. This is usually my preferred method for fries but I can guarantee that you will have soggy sweet potatoes at 375 degrees. You have to bake them at a much hotter setting. I liked it but there are other recipes on here with a more complex flavor of herbs and spices for sweet potatoes. My oldest son did not like it at all. The rest of us did but mostly because I made a chipotle/lemon dip to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
These were so good!!! The smell before cooking was great and the finished product was amazing! As another user recommended, I cubed the potatoes, mixed ingredients in a bag and baked at 375 for 30 minutes. I will make these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
These were great. Easy to put together and delicious. Also tasted great cold the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
These had a very interesting flavour. I used sweet and regular potatoes. I found the microwave time for the sweeti potatoes to be way too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
It's not a "Wow!!!" flavor statement, but it is nice. DH, who does not like his sweet potatoes messed with, actually reached for the second part of his serving. (He had opted for a tiny taste-and-see portion on the first round.) I adjusted serving size to 2 and used a farily large sweet potato. I ended up using about four minutes on high in our microwave for the pre-cook phase. Meanwhile, I mixed the spices, vinegar and oil in a zip lock bag; later placing the "fingers" of par-baked potato into the bag for a shake-to-coat application ahead of grilling the requisite time. This was easy and was a nice alternative to butter and cinnamon. We will do again. (This time we served with a spinach salad and grilled steaks.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Grilled Veggie Sandwich and Potato Salad

This grilled sandwich is so hearty, you could almost call it "meaty."

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

See how to turn tilapia filets into tasty marinated fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States