Grilled Chipotle Chorizo Chicken Sausage & Shrimp Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I'm not a fan of sausage, in general, (though I did eat a few pieces and enjoyed the grilled flavor) so I'm going to rely primarily on Mr. LTH for this review. He didn't even finish his meal and he's a big fan of sausage. He deemed this "too spicy". I didn't find it too spicy at all, but didn't like it enough to save the leftovers for lunch. I skipped the couscous and subbed brown rice instead and had to use the Jalapeno Al Fresco as they grocery store didn't have the Chipotle version. I did really enjoy the marinated veggies! This is a nice recipe (and much more developed than so many corporately sponsored recipes), it just wasn't our cup o' tea...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
We really liked this recipe. I changed up the veggies a little to use what I had on hand. Did not care for the couscous as it was very bland. Next time I will try it with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Photo by cookiequeen
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I thought this was very good. I'm not a fan of cous-cous though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiequeen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Poteau, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA
Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This recipe was a good one. The kabobs and the marinade were very good. The couscous was so-so and not very flavorful as written. Next time, I would either serve another starch or bump up the flavor factor on it. The marinade is a keeper. Its very easy to do and super tasty. A little hot, a little sweet, smoky and earthy and tangy too. Hits all the flavor profiles you need. You could easily change up the skewers with all sorts of veggies/meats, so don't let those specific ingredients deter you from giving this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
The marinade is tasty, I even added some pineapple juice to it. I added mushrooms to the veggies and they were GREAT with the marinade flavors!!! I didn't like the idea of marinating everything together so I didn't add the sausage. I just threaded everything after I marinated the veggies. The spicy chipotle was a great contrast of flavors! I couldn't find Al fresco brand but it still came out great. The reason this doesn't get 5* is the couscous was terribly bland and boring-a waste of saffron! The kebobs are worth making though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I think my favorite part of this recipe is DEFINITELY the marinade. Soooo tasty! The pineapple that I thought I had was a bit...past its expiration date...so I used a mango instead. It was awesome! My husband and his friend devoured every bit of it. I was going to serve it with brown rice, but they ate it all before I had a chance to reheat my rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Julie Fegler
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I liked the thick marinade that went on these kabobs. They have a good contrast of flavors with the spicy marinade and sausages, and the sweet peppers and pineapple. This was enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Yum! My hubby loves Chorizo and these were a huge hit! I love that you can mix up different veggies according to taste - i served with a quinoa dish and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Superb!!! This is a great bbq idea-loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WickedCreations

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA
Photo by Angela Sackett
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
yum! we used the Sweet Italian (couldn't find the Chipotle Chorizo in our store) and it was delicious! The next day we used leftovers in an egg scramble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Chef John’s Chorizo and Chicken Skewers

Spicy chorizo sausage adds big flavor to lean chicken and veggie skewers.

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States