Grilled Chicken with Fresh Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2002
Good recipe. Go easy on the ginger root, though. I added papaya just for chunks - mango was stringy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This recipe was o.k. It needed something more...I added orange juice. It needs a zest of something. I kept tasting the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fuquay Varina, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
Unusual yet tasty. We really like ginger, so I used a lot of it, which gave it a lot of zing. Complemented the barbecued chicken very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
This was an excellent recipe! We used bone in chicken breasts and added red pepper flakes, a little brown sugar and EXTRA GINGER to the recipe. At least, I think it was extra ginger. The amount isn't really clear in the directions. We used the remaining salsa (it makes a lot!) on shrimp a couple days later. It was truly wonderful! Thanks, Rimi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kherder330

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staples, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
This salsa was disgusting....it tasted like nothing more than chopped up mangos. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
I loved the recipe but I did modify it quite a bit. I marinated the chicken with balsamic vinegar, fresh ginger, cilantro, and a little olive oil. this made the chicken really juicy and tender after grilling. I also added some tomato to the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seaford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. The only change I made was adding the juice of half a lime to the salsa. I used the other half of the lime to juice the chicken breast after it was done grilling. I found that this helped balance the strong taste of the ginger root. Thanks for the recipe; we will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This is one of the best recipes I've tried so far and one that I can't wait to make again. I marinated the chicken overnight in my own blend of OJ, lemon and lime juice with red onion, ginger, cilantro, garlic and jalapeno to compliment the mango salsa. I grilled the breasts on my barbeqque and they came out tender and very juicy and the mango salsa played off the flavors very well. Overall, a simple and easy way to serve otherwise a routine chicken dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Canada, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
The mango salsa was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
incredible, this is so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA
Living In: Clearfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

A simple fresh mango salsa takes grilled tilapia straight to the top!

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States