Grilled Chicken with Fresh Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I tweaked this a little based on what I had in the pantry - I used ground ginger instead, and added it to the chicken before baking. I also had to use frozen mango pieces and white vinegar instead of cider (I don't know if I'd even be able to tell a difference anyway). I added chopped white onion, too. I thought this recipe was really fresh and tasty, but my husband didn't like it much... he only ate the chicken, and he loves mango!. He thinks it would be better if the fruit was chilled instead, and it did seem to me that the the flavors developed more after it had cooled on my plate. When I try this again, I will probably dice the mango into little pieces and chill it before serving. I would like to try this with fish next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This has terrific potential with just a bit of tweaking. the chicken seems under seasoned for our taste so I marinated bone in chicken breast in orange muscat wine vinegar and a little oil and ginger. I also used the orange muscat vinegar for the salsa. Very tasty and healthy dinner. Thanks so much for sharing this tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This was insanely awesome. Someone here had mentioned marinating the chicken in some balsamic vinegar, olive oil, ginger, and cilantro. I did the same and I've never, EVER had chicken as juicy and delicious as this. Thanks for the recipe :) I'll be making this again.....and again and again :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
YUMMO!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Really great. I used Orange, Strawberry, Banana juice instead of white wine and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corbs09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Playa Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This mango chicken was great! I ommitted the white whine and added the juice of 1 lime instead and it was amazing. I served it with a lime-cilantro rice. This meal is impressive with its bold taste and it looks beautiful on the plate. ALSO-because it was snowing outside. instead of using a grill, I cooked the chicken in a frying pan with a lid on it and it was still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
incredible, this is so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA
Living In: Clearfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
The mango salsa was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This is one of the best recipes I've tried so far and one that I can't wait to make again. I marinated the chicken overnight in my own blend of OJ, lemon and lime juice with red onion, ginger, cilantro, garlic and jalapeno to compliment the mango salsa. I grilled the breasts on my barbeqque and they came out tender and very juicy and the mango salsa played off the flavors very well. Overall, a simple and easy way to serve otherwise a routine chicken dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Canada, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. The only change I made was adding the juice of half a lime to the salsa. I used the other half of the lime to juice the chicken breast after it was done grilling. I found that this helped balance the strong taste of the ginger root. Thanks for the recipe; we will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

A simple fresh mango salsa takes grilled tilapia straight to the top!

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States