Grilled Chicken and Potato Foil Packs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I wrote a previous review for this recipe saying my hubby & I enjoyed it but still thought it could use more flavor. I made this several times experimenting with the seasonings and made it again for our labor day cookout using Italian seasoning in place of the basil and thyme. Everyone raved over it. I tripled the marinade recipe for 6 chicken breasts, putting the breasts in one bag with 1/3rd of the marinade. I nuked the potatoes for a few minutes in the micro because I found on other occasions that everything else was ready and the potato'e were still not cooked. That solved that problem. I added broccoli and fresh mushrooms to the vegetable mixture and put them all in another large plastic bag with a third of the marinade. I let everything marinate for 3-4 hrs then placed all in a large aluminun foil container, poured the last of the marinade over all, sprinkled with parmesean cheese, covered and put it in the fridge until it was time to put it on the grill. 35 min. grilling time was perfect, chicken was done and the veggies were still crisp tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
We made this last night -- first time I've cooked an unreviewed recipe. I gave this four stars for flavor, but think if I made it again I would double the seasoning. The packets were good, but not quite seasoned enough. Great flavor and our boys appreciated how eas it was to clean up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
one of the first dishes that I made from this website after looking for something new that was quick and easy on the grill, which this was both! After reading the other reviews, I did make a minor change. Instead of putting the chicken breast right onto the foil, I first dipped it in the mixture, stabbing it a few times with a fork to get the flavoring inside the chicken as well. This worked out WONDERFULLY well, creating a flavorful and moist chicken. This is definately something that will be made again and again. I can't wait to share it with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JanetR
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I made this for dinner last night and my family loved it! A few variations I made: 1. I used a bottled garlic & herb marinade instead of the suggested oil, vinegar, spices to marinate the chicken 2. I substituted chicken breasts for 2 chicken drumsticks (skin removed) 3. I chose fresh yellow summer squash, zucchini, small red potatoes, sweet vidalia onions, yellow and red bell peppers 4. I spooned a little of the marinade over the top of the chicken/veggies then seasoned with garlic salt, freshly ground pepper and topped with fresh basil 5. I double wrapped each packet in heavy duty foil to keep all the juices in 6. Grilled the packets for 40 mins, turning often Chicken and veggies were cooked perfectly and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This is AMESOME!!!! I change something to fit what I had in the Kitchen: instead of cider vinager i used soy sauce adn instead of thyme i added a little bit of parsley. My husband and I both agreed that we could easliy eat this over and over again! I can not wait to try this tomorrow with turkey breats!! I HIGHLY recomend! Great Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
YUM!! The chicken was amazing! After reading tons of reviews here's what i did: I used red wine vinegar instead of cider vinegar because thats all I had and I used Italian seasoning instead of the basil and thyme. I poked some holes in the chicken and soaked it in the marinade as another person suggested (I can't imagine making this without doing this) I also put the potatoes in the microwave for a couple minutes as someone else suggested. The potatoes still didn't cook all the way and the veggies were way overcooked...but the chicken turned out GREAT! So next time I think i'll cook the potatoes in a seperate foil pack; making sure they cook all the way. And i'll add the veggies halfway through cooking the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I really want to make this recipe work because I like so many things about it--one dish meal, healthy, easy cooking and clean-up. I increased the spices as others suggested, but that only benefited the vegetables. If I try this recipe again, I will ladle some sauce on the meat, then add the vegetables and ladle on some more sauce. The vegetables were very good, but the chicken was very plain and, for some reason, dry. I don't know what I did wrong, but the chicken was not as moist as I expected it to be. I left them on the full 40 minutes because the chicken breasts were kind of thick. Must have been too long, but the potatoes were just done and some weren't thoroughly cooked. However, I do think the recipe has potential and that's why I gave it three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I made this camping. It was a hit with everyone, including the little ones and clean up was so nice!! I used white wine instead of vinegar (not a big vinegar fan) and herbs de provence instead of the herbs listed. What a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roscoe, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Very easy and great for summer. The only change I would make is that I would double the seasoning. The flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I used olive oil, freshly picked basil & thyme, organic potatoes and onions. This is a recipe I will use again - it was delicious. I served it with brown rice topped with scallions and soy sauce and a green salad that included fresh mint, basil and tomatoe - all picked a few minutes before serving. This was a summer meal that made us feel great after eating, full of wonderful flavors and made us forget it was 100+ outside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States