Grilled Chicken and Portobello Lasagna Rollups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Bailey
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This recipe was very delicious! I did make a few mistakes though, and I hope by sharing them it will help others out.. First, I should have chopped my ingredients previous to starting the cooking - I used fresh spinach, mushrooms, and a frozen chicken breast I had to defrost and cook. I started boiling the lasagna noodles far too early so by the time I actually made the rolls, they were sticking together and some were ripped. The next mistake I made was doing the mushrooms separate - my boyfriend doesn't eat them, so I decided to add them to only a few rollups for myself, but the mushroom quantity ratio to the other ingredients was overpowering so they didn't turn out so well. Also, the recipe says to boil 18 noodles and it makes 9 servings. I'm not sure if it's just me, but I could only fit 12 rollups in my 9x13 glass pan. I made them by having the noodle flat, adding filling along the middle, and rolling it up so it was layered (kind of) and very fat! If it is supposed to be done another way please let me know! I think the best part of this recipe was the combination of tomato and alfredo sauces with all the cheeses - absolutely delicious! Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This was really tasty! My boyfriend and I absolutley LOVED it! A few tips to share: #1 If you cook the noodles ahead of time, place them separately on top of wet paper towels to prevent them from drying out. #2 Cook the spinach and mushroom mix in white wine. It really adds a bit of great flavor #3 I thought it could use a little bit more ricotta and spinach. This is just personal taste, however, as I LOVE lasagna filling! #4 make sure the chicken is cut up really small to make it easier to eat as well as easier to roll up!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This recipe is unbelievable! I followed the recipe exactly as it was written (pine nuts and all) and it was out-of-this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Wow! This was delicious! My boyfriend (who doesn't like spinach or mushrooms) had three servings (and I had two!)...I didn't use the pine nuts because I didn't have any. I used low-fat alfredo sauce and 2% milk mozarella. I also used a little more parmesan than called for (mostly because I wasn't paying attention when I put it in...but it still tasted wonderful). I served it with some homemade garlic bread. The marinara and alfredo go together VERY well...it gave the roll-ups a completely different taste than they would have had with either sauce alone. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I was gonna give this three stars until I ate it leftover. It was so much better the second day, it was like a new meal. Okay, here's the thing. It was too dry. Just my preference, I guess. I like sloppy saucy lasagna. This may have been perfect if I had added a jar of alfredo (or even marinara) to the chicken/spinach mixture. Maybe even mix some mozzarella, or substitute cottage cheese for the ricotta. That being said, the second day, I poured about half a jar of marinara on top and put it back in the oven, and it was awesome. I was going to dump the leftovers, but now I'm looking forward to having it for dinner again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
These were absolutely delicious! I made a couple changes. First, I added 2 eggs to the filling. There was no way the filling was going to stick together without something to bind it and eggs are a standard in lasagna filling, so two were just right. Second, I used all marinara sauce instead of the marinara/alfredo combo. My husband and I could not get enough of this meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I didn't add the mushrooms or pine nuts but it still turned out delicious! Word of advice: COVER and bake for 40 mins (it will keep your noodles from getting tough). Then uncover, add cheese, and finish baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Oh my goodness this was YUMMY! I didn't expect my husband to love it, because he's not a big spinach fan, but he had THIRDS when I made this. The only change I made was to add extra sauce, based on other reviews. I think this recipe could actually be made without chicken and still be good if you're trying to make a vegetarian dish. Next time I might add some caramelized onions to the spinach mixture or maybe sautee some garlic with it. This would be just to experiment and not because the recipe wasn't wonderful exactly as written. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Absolutely delicious! Everyone loved it! I used fresh spinach instead of frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Husband had thirds on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States