Grilled Chicken Thighs Tandoori Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Simple and flexible, over the years I've made this recipe on the grill, in the oven under the broiler (need to reduce the heat after a few minutes), and in a slow cooker (it doesn't get as crispy in the slow cooker but the flavor is lovely, just be sure to use an inset to keep the chicken out of it's own juices). I have used a premade Garam masala spice blend and I have made the recipe exactly as directed and enjoyed both. I always leave the marinade on (I missed that step the first time which made my grilling experience less successful but I loved the flavor so repeat it every time). I eat Indian food regularly and I must admit it isn't as good as something I would get from a restaurant but compared to other Indian recipes I've attempted this is EASY and the results are very tasty. You may need to adjust the seasoning to your taste and you'll want to be sure to use a really good, tart yogurt (I use Greek yogurt), but this is a lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
This was an excellent recipe. I used a fresh cut up chicken and left it in the marinate for 9 hours. For extra kick, I added 1 tsp of cayenne pepper and 2 tbsp of freshly chopped cilantro, and a couple of extra tbsp of fresh ginger. Served it with plain basmati rice and curried lentils. Will definately make it again, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I think it was terrific....I'm new to cooking (but not to eating) and in general don't like to cook. However, this recipe was soooo good and terrifically easy that I'll no doubt be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgneuenhaus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This was amazing!!! It didn't say if I was supposed to remove the skin, but I did as I only had 6 hours to marinate. The best grilled chicken on the grill I've ever had, and everyone really liked it, and the rest of this family is not a fan of meat with bones in it. (So annoying)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I baked this because I did not have access to a grill. I marinated 3 drumsticks overnight and swiped off the excess marinade before placing them on a cookie tray in the oven. Baked at 210 deg C for 50 minutes, and they came out so juicy and wonderful. The skin was crispy and tasted fantastic. This is really good, but does not taste like a tandoori dish. Will make again because I love the flavor. Also pretty much an effortless meal. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Chicken was very good and moist. I cooked it pretty much as instructed except I didn't wipe off the marinade before grilling and after taking chicken off the grill, I put into a hot oven for about five more minutes to crisp it up a bit. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KHONEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Used this marinade on chicken wings then slow cooked them in the oven, absolutely delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
We don't have access to a grill, so we put this is a glass pyrex and baked for about 20 minutes on each side, for a total of 40 minutes. We set the marinade for only about 5 hours, and it still came out pretty good. The next time we make this it will be broiled to get the skin more crispy, and we'll add something to give it a bit more kick. Overall pretty good, looking forward to our next rendition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Wigginton

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I made this just as the recipe stated, very tender, juicy and quite delicious. Be sure to spray the grill well before grilling as it wants to stick. Other than waiting a day to marinate the recipe is quite easy to make. Ut Oh I remember, I lied, I used turmeric and paprika for color and more flavor rather than food coloring. Thank you it tastes so authentic. I had a friend who was of this culture and she made it several years ago and this is right up there with what she had made. Great recipe - D-Double-delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Briscoe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Carrabelle, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Oh ma ga. Slam dunk with this recipe. I did not have the recommended 8-hour marinade window, so I used the ingredients as more of a dry rub on the spot. Wow, in 20 minutes, these thighs came out delicious with a bit of firecracker off the tongue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twincookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tandoori Chicken

Watch Chef John make easy tandoori-style chicken on the grill.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States