Grilled Chicken Spiedies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
The people who say it's too Vinegary are obviously not from the Southern Tier area. Good recipe but not the best I've ever made. Check out the speidie fest website for the contest winners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Endicott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I'm from the southern tier area of New York and enjoyed spiedies for many years. I must say that I've tried other DIY spiedie recipes and this had been our favorite. Chicken thighs are definitely the way to go. I used 3/4 c of olive oil instead of 1/2 c. and didn't find it too vinegary. I enjoy my spiedie on a slice of fresh baked italian bread with a smear of butter. The meat was so flavorful and moist it really didn't need a drizzle of marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Thanks for sharing a wonderful regional sandwich! I'm from Endicott NY and my family has made these wonderful sandwiches for WELL over 50 years. I have never used sugar in the recipe, and I use red wine vinegar (like the Chianti vinegar another reviewer mentioned). Pork, Chicken, Lamb, Beef- you name it. Marinated for 2-3 days and they almost become like ceviche. Grilled on a skewer and always served on perfect Roma's (local bakery)or Battalini's (another bakery) sliced fresh italian bread. Great topped with cheese and marinated mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endicott, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
First, I'd like to say that I live in the area that this recipe comes from & they are a staple food at most restaurants & family bbq's. Usually, I just buy a jar of Lupo's or Salamida Spiedi sauce, but wanted to serve it at a party for 30 & was trying to keep costs down, so decided to make my own. The recipe handed down by my family is very close to this one, so I melded the 2 recipes together & got nonstop compliments from my guests, who are all natives & KNOW their spiedies. My tips: Any type of meat will do, but works its magic best with tough and fatty cuts - the tougher the cut, the longer you should marinade (2-14 days optimal, shaking it once/day- don't worry, it will keep!). Use as many fresh ingredients as possible, but it will still work if you cannot. The ratio of vinegar should be equal to the fresh-squeezed lemon juice- 1/4 c each. White wine vinegar is good, but red or plain old white will do. 1/3 c. Olive (or any veg) oil. I use 4 cloves and 1 t. garlic powder, add 1 T. dry parsley, 1 T. dry basil and 1 t. of dry oregano. Add the salt to the marinade instead of waiting until its on the grill, which, if possible, should be a wood fire, as it adds so much depth to the flavor. I hate skewering & have a grilling pan with drip holes in it that works better. The hoagie rolls are nice, but most families use a nice, soft loaf of crusty Italian bread & skip toasting it. A delicious addition is cooked mushrooms, peppers, onions with melted cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Yum! I really liked this recipe, it had a great tangy flavour a hint of mint, but not too much. Mine was a little dry but I may have overcooked it and even though I know it's traditional I found serving it in a bun with nothing else a little boring so next time I might add some salad in with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
these are a family tradition for us, Mom and Dad would make 25 lbs at a time and have a neighborhood cookout, only made with lamb - which melt in your mouth!, never had chicken until I could not buy leg of lamb where I live - and by the way, it was always said that MY grandpa invented these in the Endicott, NY area and a friend took the recipe and bottled it - not sure where the truth of it all is, but I presume it was brought over on the boat by lots of families. Just try it with the freshest ingredients and herbs and lemons marinated overnite for the best flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I added less vinegar and as usual Chef John rocks the house again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
read other comments and did less vinegar but everything else as stated and it was really good. My son is extremely picky and he enjoyed the chicken flavor....so thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Chef John, as always, YOU ROCK!! PEOPLE!! Read the recipe, FIRST! Then decide if it's for you! Don't trash a recipe just because it didn't suit you. Thanks Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Too vinegary... It was alright, but it was definitely vinegar overload.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Spiedies

Discover America’s greatest unknown sandwich masterpiece!

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Grilled Tandoori Chicken

Watch Chef John make easy tandoori-style chicken on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States