Grilled Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
It was good. I liked the flavors and so did my kids. Will put this in our "keeper" can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I can't even stress how disappointed I was in this dish. I followed the recipe exactly and was very unimpressed with the results. The chicken was dry, salty and sour. Not a dish I will make again - nor would I recommend it to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLONDIENEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I've made Adobo many times - for those who found that it was too salty, this has to do with the brand of soy sauce you use. If you buy Kikoman for example use 1/2 cup less than the recipe calls for or add more water. If you buy a Filipino brand like Silver Swan then follow the recipe as is and it won't be salty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe! I substituted chicken wings, because we were having a "wing" party with various types of wings, but followed the recipe otherwise. We had BBQ, Garlic hot and adobo wings and the adobo wings were the first to go. Try it, you'll love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I made this with breasts instead of thighs, and it turned out pretty good, however I think the boil time was a little long for using white meat instead of dark meat, and they overcooked just a bit. I'll have to try it again with thighs, but it was a great recipe! Served it over Cilantro Lime Rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Very Good. I used less soy sauce then the recipe called for and i put the chicken on the GF grill since i don't have an outdoor grill. Great recipe that I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miramar, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
yummy, just used 1/2 cup of soy sauce and it was delish. I served right after grilling and the remaining chicken I let soak in the sauce so it wouldn't dry out. This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
My mom usually cooks the Filipino food and when I showed here this recipe she was skeptical about bbq'n this since she usually cooks it the traditional way. But now everytime I uses this recipe she likes this way instead. I think 40 minutes is too long for it to cook over the stove. So I reduce it to about 15 - 20 minutes and then bbq it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aescanio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
My kids love it. I made it in the crockpot with frozen chicken so that it won't fall apart. My son tried it before I have a chance to broil it (too cold outside for grilling) and he thinks it's similar. Made it again tonight and decided that it is much better with the grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Wow, I served with brown rice and lots of the juice/glaze drowning everything. Tastes just like dad's!! I am used to adobo made in a big stock pot and simmered for hours, so this was a nice change but still had authentic flavor. It didn't turn glaze-like (more of just an adobo juice), but thats probably due to the fact I used less honey. I made the marinade and put the chicken in a bag with it and froze it until ready to use. Yesterday i put it in the fridge to defrost and further marinate the flavor. FABULOUS!! And for those who say it is too salty, it is not at all. I used reduced sodium soy sauce after reading the reviews, but ended up putting La Choy full sodium soy on afterward because it was lacking something. Salt. It's just how the flavors are supposed to be. That taught me not to mess with perfection ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States