Grilled Cheese and Peanut Butter Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I'm not a fan of beef so this combo has been my stand-in for over 60 years. Also llike to add tomatoes, or deviled ham, or bacon. Both cheese AND peanut butter blend with everything, so why not experiment? Try it, you'll like it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I like grilled cheese and I like peanut butter. But together? Heck, why not! I was quite surprised, too. It was very good. I didn't fry quite as long as the recipe called for. Maybe my pan was a little too hot. But it called for a good sandwich. The peanut butter wasn't runny at all. I had to use American since I didn't have the Cheddar and on top of that I used 2 slices. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This was fine for a change, but it's not something I would eat on a regular basis. I think the texture of the hot peanut butter takes away from the melty cheese texture, making the whole thing just too runny. The flavours were fine, though, and I enjoyed trying something different. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Just tasted like a regular toasted peanut butter sandwich. Couldn't taste the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Awesome! I didn't use cheddar cheese, which would probably have been better, but I used Muenster and it was still good. I used a whole wheat english muffin as my bread and it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This was good...I was expecting it to be better for some reason. I guess because all of the great reviews. I might make it again, not sure. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I book marked this because it sounded so absurd. I made it because I had nobody else to cook for and thought, 'what the hell.' I rated it 5 stars because it was OUTSTANDING. I had to take 2 bites because I wondered if my taste buds were failing me or just horribly confused. To top off the gross factor I grabbed a bottle of buffalo sauce from the fridge and filled a ramekin to dip the sandwich in. Marvelous. Hallie_Toronto, you are not insane, you are a genius, okay maybe a little insane to have tired this to begin with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idonteatblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape May, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
this recipe was so good my babysitter ( i'm 10 ) even liked when I thought she wouldn't
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
OK, here's the deal. This is the best sandwich ever, but it has to be done right. There are 2 essential and 2 secondary things people are missing. Essential 1: real peanut butter - this means no sugar added (not sweetened factory goo) - it's just ground up peanuts (with maybe some salt and palm oil). Sweetened peanut butter spoils the bite of the cheese (see below). Essential 2: hot sauce - the sandwich is to be dipped in hot sauce. Not crazy habanero but-in-the-tub stuff, liquid-y hot sauce like Cholula or Tapatio. It provides essential softness and flavor. Secondary 1: sharp cheddar cheese only - preferably extra sharp, good cheddar (like Tillamook). The cheese has to compete with your good, real peanut butter. Secondary 2: whole wheat bread - with the powerful elements of real peanut butter, extra sharp cheddar, and hot sauce, white bread just can't hold its own. Enjoy! Convert your friends - they will be appreciative, eventually. Oh, and it goes great with a fresh-from-the-fridge Pabst tallboy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I love these sandwiches!!! I use multi grain bread and serve sliced apples on the side. SOOO yummy and gooey. I disagree that you should use american cheese. Cheddar is totally the way to go. It's like those cheddar pb crackers that you buy but bigger and gooey and warm. OMG, I think I have to go make one now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States