Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
I came across this recipe and I just had to comment. There is an art to making a grilled cheese sandwich. It has to be cooked on low heat in order to evenly toast the bread as well as melt the cheese inside. My husband, bless his heart, cooks EVERYTHING on high heat so that he can finish faster. His sandwiches tend to be burned on the outside while the cheese inside is not completely melted. With that said, I make mine with whole wheat bread and sharp cheddar cheese, served with tomato soup and a sweet pickle. This is one of my favorite lunch or dinner meals. I truly enjoy this site and the reviews and tips, which are mostly well thought out and constructive. Thank you for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1688 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
How can a grilled cheese sandwich NOT get 5 stars?! I loved to read all of the comments. So I had to add my variation that I did not see anyone suggest. Back in the late 80's, when I was in high school, my friends aunt was doing Weight Watchers. They told her to, instead of using butter on the outside of the bread, apply a thin layer of mayo. It grills up great, adds a little extra flavor, and is less fattening than the butter. It spreads thinner so you hardly use any but still have something to give you a crispy crunch. I also add mustard to the inside. Yum! All 3 of my kids love it this way. Great post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
948 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I do agree this recipe is a classic, one that goes hand-n-hand with "How to boil water" as seen on another site. But for those looking for a truly different addition to an old favorite, try this. Make the grill cheese sandwich as usual, but without buttering the bread. When the cheese is melted to your likeing, remove the entire sandwich from the pan. Since both sides of the bread will be lightly toasted, you can now dip both sides of the sandwich in an egg batter and return it to the pan. If desired, one may be creative with the egg batter using a spice of your choice, such as garlic, even finely minced fresh onions. Anything really. If you butter the bread prior to placing the sandwich in the pan, the bread will get soggy and will not cook the eggs properly. Try it and be pleased with your invention.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
663 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Ingenious! I made some changes though. I switched out the bread for a hamburger bun. I didn't have any cheese, so used ground beef and made it into a patty, first grilling it. If you don't have butter you can just toast the bun (I used the recipe on this site called "perfect toast" but substituted buns for the bread.). This recipe would be perfect for my friend Nicole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
327 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
I personally like it that allrecipes.com has published basic recipes! Although I already knew how to make a grilled cheese it was nice to print this one out for my son who is wanting to learn how to cook. Kudos to allrecipes for knowing their are newbie cooks here! Thanks Sara!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I had to laugh that someone submitted this as a recipe, but it also looks like the place to put our favorite variations, so here goes.... Put a thick slice of sharp cheddar cheese on a french baguete, with a slice of granny smith apple, and cook on a george forman grill (great alternative to buying an expensive pannini press). No need for butter as the forman is nonstick, you just might want to press down on the lid a little while it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
here's a tip. instead of frying wrap ur sandwiches in foil (just one layer) and iron both sides. make sure to open up and check. its quick without having to fry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
AllRecipes.com has taught me everything I needed to know about boiling eggs, baking potatoes, and, yes, frying up a grilled cheese sandwich. These things aren't always obvious to people not raised by housewives, and I needed a trusted source to teach me the basics of cooking. Hooray for AllRecipes.com. Boo to snarky food-snob commenters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhedde

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Definitely a classic that goes great with tomato soup! I use multi-grain bread and add a slice or two of tomato to make it a little more healthy. This is my husband's favorite, especially with the addition of a little ham or bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
My variation on this classic recipe is to use rye bread, spread a thin layer of spreadable cream cheese on one or both slices (the surfaces facing the cheese), and use Monterey Jack cheese. Then butter and fry as usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States