Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
Yes this is truly a classic. I have made it many times. Feel free to use any type of bread and any cheese you have on hand instead of cheddar. I usually wind up with American on wheat. I only give this a 7 for difficulty though. I add some mustard zing to mine by spreading it on the second piece of bread and then placing it mustard side down on top of the cheese. I then perfom the tricky manuever of spreading the butter on the top of the already assembled sandwich. To give the performance real panache, when the cheese is all melted and gooey I place the finished sandwich on the plate and gingerly flop open the top piece of bread to expose the gooey cheese. I then apply a dollop of sweet pickle relish and flop it back together (with flare of course). The cool relish is a nice contrast to the hot cheese instead of grilling the relish as the sandwich cooks. Timing for this complicated gyration is critical though because as the cheese cools the pieces of bread become more and more glued together. The sandwich must be separated when it is gooey and very hot. What your fingers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
Amazing! This is nearly identical to my family's closely-guarded grilled cheese recipe. For those willing to get a little adventurous - try using American cheese instead of cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
I think that I have been making this for 25 years (I'm now 32). Be creative and place 1 slice of the bread in the pan (butter-side down) and spread mustard on it, then add the cheese & a slice of ham. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
Now, now, guys, no need to get nasty. I've actually seen a recipe for salted boiled water on another site. (now that's pathetic) Anyway, I enjoy putting sliced red onion and a little bar-b-que sauce on my sandwich before grilling. It's really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Just 5 words: Highly recommended for first timers! (sorry, just had to comment). Although this presented a great laugh, I have also used red or chopped green onions for some bite. Add a slice of ham and you have a grilled ham AND cheese! But who am I to talk...I have a bachelor friend that can hardly make toast...I'll be sure to recommend this one to him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
Hey, I appreciate that you put a 'basic' recipe like this on the site!! Maybe other people are being sarcastic in their comments, but I'm not..cuz I honestly didn't know how to make grilled cheese sandwiches before! these are so great dipped in warm tomato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
I personally like it that allrecipes.com has published basic recipes! Although I already knew how to make a grilled cheese it was nice to print this one out for my son who is wanting to learn how to cook. Kudos to allrecipes for knowing their are newbie cooks here! Thanks Sara!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Hey...everybody has to start somewhere right?? This is an excellent base for grilled cheese and a great way to experiment with different breads and cheeses. My son could eat these everyday...I even get to sneak in some ham or turkey on his good days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
I came across this recipe and I just had to comment. There is an art to making a grilled cheese sandwich. It has to be cooked on low heat in order to evenly toast the bread as well as melt the cheese inside. My husband, bless his heart, cooks EVERYTHING on high heat so that he can finish faster. His sandwiches tend to be burned on the outside while the cheese inside is not completely melted. With that said, I make mine with whole wheat bread and sharp cheddar cheese, served with tomato soup and a sweet pickle. This is one of my favorite lunch or dinner meals. I truly enjoy this site and the reviews and tips, which are mostly well thought out and constructive. Thank you for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1677 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States