Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Instead of buttering the bread, I swipe the heated nonstick pan with the stick of butter then put the sandwich on top of the melted butter to cook. When that side is done, I lift the sandwich then swipe the pan again and cook the other side- I still get the butter taste and it crisps up the bread, but this way you use MUCH less butter (at least I do!). Makes it a bit healthier. And sometimes I'll sprinkle a little garlic powder in the butter - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I grew up on white bread with American cheese, but now I prefer a healthy wheat bread with a mixture of cheddar and monterey jack. I also use butter flavored pan spray on the bread rather than butter, even though real butter tastes the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I've just made this Cheese toast with good thick white bread and Mild Cheddar cheese,and it was superb ! Wished, I had some nice tomato soup to go with it. Extremely easy to make, looks gorgeous and tastes delicious ! Bravo !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Classic deliciousness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasonmelohall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I love grill cheese sandwiches..I love to put whole dill pickles sliced thin and longways on my sandwich..Just add maybe three slices on top and cheese, then add you top piece of bread...I had these when worked at hospital..Sounds terrible, but is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I love grilled cheese! There are TONS of variations you could do. Add a slice or two of tomato with a smidgen of salt and pepper. Add mustard and honey, along with some Canadian bacon. (One of my faves.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Love this. I actually use George foreman grill and it comes out perfect! I added tomatoes inside also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
At first I was unsure about taking on this recipe. A lot of recipes on the web can be tricky, so I am pretty hesitant about spending the money on ingredients for a recipe that I might mess up. Fortunately this was not the case! I got out my butter and put it on my bread. Although I did not use the recommended non stick pan, I still was able to perfectly brown both sides. I also find that for a bit of a healthier version, cut the amount of butter in half. A great recipe for the venturing artisan. I advise caution when setting your flame as too much can easily burn the bread. Good luck. Don't F it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Like a lot of other people, I just had to write something. I've started using specialty cheese for our grilled cheese. Blueberry Cheddar is awesome and the kids love it for breakfast. Taco Jack, Smoked Bacon Cheddar, Apple or Cranberry. For some extra kick we also love Pepper Jack and Habanero Jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This recipe was great I added bacon to mine, I of course cooked bacon first then I added it, with a side of ranch.... Soooo delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 475) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States