Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
Ahhh, yes ~ like so many said *back to the basics*! I can't think of a better recipe! There's always someone out there that is *just starting out* and this recipe is perfect! :o) I don't eat Grilled Cheese Sandwiches now but I did as a child. Ahhh, the memories, LOL. I do make them for my girls now, though! Anyway, I just wanted to add my rating here since this is such a great *classic*! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Landover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
I'm also glad to see basic recipes in here. When making a small cookbook for my son, I put all his favorites in, no matter how easy. Even PB&H!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
Try adding sliced tomatoes and a little mayo and salt and pepper. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
How can you go wrong with grilled cheese? I seem to like landolake white cheese better than cheddar. Adding thin slices of tomatoes makes this classic dish even more delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
If simple recipes like this weren't ever posted, my roomate wouldn't know how to feed herself. Plus, its a basic recipe....I think it's a great idea to post it. I've been making these forever ~ just taught The Boy how to make them too. My variation is to put thinly sliced tomatoes and finely chopped onions, sprinkled with salt and pepper, in between two layers of cheddar cheese. YUM. Mozzarella works well like this too. Many thanks, Sara, for posting this old favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
I am sure there are people who are just learning to cook who find basic recipes to be exactly what they need from this site (since it is called "All Recipes", not "Fancy and Complicated Recipes"). I join the other reviewers who add sliced tomatoes in between two slices of cheddar for the "perfect" grilled cheese. It's great made with whole grain bread. And of course, there is the close cousin of grilled cheese, the Tuna Melt, made by adding some tuna salad between the cheese slices. I'd be SO fat if I could make grilled cheese and its variations every day for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
It is funny to see a recipe for grilled cheese, but I really like to read everyones customizations, so here is mine... Mozzerella with a little leftover spaghetti sauce. Mmmm. Like a little piece of pizza heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
The only way to make a true grilled cheese sandwhich. I like mine with kraft american cheese. Also if I am in the mood I will add bacon or a tomato to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
I've always made my grilled cheese this way and I will continue to do so. I personally think it's the best way to have it. The ony difference is I like mustard on mine. I sometimes like to add ham, and tomato for something different. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Thanx to recipes like these, my 23 yr old 'little' sister can feed herself something other than soup from a can! I forward these to her, as well as adding them to my 7 yr old daughter's 'cookbook'. Thank-goodness for such basic recipes included on this web-site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duck Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States