Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Perfect basic recipe - it's exactly what it's supposed to be! Just make sure you grill on a temperature that's closer to low than medium....the cheese needs to melt AND the bread has to toast (not burn).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This yet another classic that has always been one of my family's favorites. I love to see classic recipes that have been posted and get new ideas for them. For this one I would love to share one of our family's added favorites. Once grill cheese is done remove from pan and spread grape jelly over the top of it. Sounds odd but truly a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
If you want the bread to remain "fluffy", melt butter on the preheated pan or grill, then put the sandwich on. Melt a little more butter in the pan before turning. The bread doesn't end up soggy or dense as it sometimes does when you butter the bread before heating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Nothing like a good old grilled cheese....but the way we always "stepped it up" was to butter both sides of the bread slices. Throw them both on the grill and when they are browned....flip over the 1st slice and put the cheese on top...then put the grilled side of the other slice of bread right onto the cheese. Then when the bottom is browned then flip the sandwich. Then both sides of the bread are toasted. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
when I was on WW program, I used to just put the sandwich in the toaster oven to eliminate the butter, etc.. saved me many calories....simple recipe, but always a great "go to " sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Kraft american cheese single, plenty of real salted butter and a dill pickle spear on the side, is how you do this sandwhich, right!! & do cook slow.. on low ~ It's the key to buttery, crispy perfection! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I like to add cream cheese to the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I actually sprinkle a little crushed red pepper in mine and dip in in a creamy tomato soup. My wife and I love love love to make this on a snowy or rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
THIS is how you do it!!! My boyfriend uses a sandwich maker to toast the bread & melt the cheese & it CRUSHES the sandwich!!! THIS is what I grew up with and THIS is how it's done best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I've been using olive oil or grapeseed oil in place of butter for a healthier version and sprinkle some parmesan cheese on the bread. (Careful though - the oil cooks much faster than butter!) Then cook it on a George Foreman served with baked potato soup. YUM!! We also add slices of ham every now and then to change it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 477) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States