Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Cheddar is a very oily cheese, which makes the sandwich very difficult to get through. I'm still looking for the perfect cheese for my grilled cheese sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
A classic. I used less butter than was called for in the recipe. Also, try grating the cheese to get a better melt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
growing up we always had this made with American cheese... I keep to that tradition, but I mix it up a little - I do one slice american and one slice pepper jack, I brush a little olive oil instead of butter (no saturated fats) and serve with Tomato Basil Soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christinasking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
When I make a grilled cheese sandwich, I like to butter both sides of the bread and fry both sides, so that you have a sandwich that's double-grilled. It tastes great, and has a wonderful texture. When one side of the bread slices are as brown as I like it, I flip both bread slices over and transfer them out of the skillet and on to a tray, browned side up. I spread the slices with mayo, add thin slices of cheese to one piece of bread, then add thin slices of tomato on top of that, and then thin slices of cheese on top of the tomato. Last, I put the other slice of bread on top, browned side in. You now have a sandwich that needs to get a nice brown crust on the outsides. Back into the skillet it goes, and brown both sides, being careful not to scorch. Gooey, hot, and really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I put a little extra inside. Heat up 2 tbsps Extra Virgin Olive oil in a separate frying pan when it is sizzling add ingredients below. Quarter of Onion peeled & diced up, Quarter of Green bell pepper seeded and diced, 2 large Mushrooms chopped 8 slices of Healthy choice Deli Roast beef Place in the middle of the buttered bread with 1 slice of Swiss Cheese slice then add sautéed onions, green bell peppers, mushrooms and beef on top with another slice of swiss Cheese then place the bread on top and cook as Directed for Grilled Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doubtmii

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I made mine with a mixture of butter and mayo to spread on the bread and used shredded cheddar cheese. Also took the liberty to add some halved black olives ( pitted canned olives) - the cheese olive combo was good. This together with some left over bruschettas and portobello mushroom soup made for a simple yet tasty dinner! Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This is my first review, although I have enjoyed many recipes on this site. Koodo's for the posting. I too, know how to make a grill cheese, but to find it as a recipe, first gave me a chuckle then I could not stop reading the reviews & will try experimenting some of the variations that sound awesome. Thanks for a recipe that is almost as good as snuggling up to a cozy fire with a good book. Memories have been made for decades from this great GCS.....Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This is a good recipe to add your own comment, so here is a tip... I am a big cheese lover and always try to use good quality cheese along with some garlic powder and other spices when making grilled cheese. However not all cheese melts as easily as others, so I cover the pan with a lid while it cooks (ON LOW) so that it does not burn and cheese gets very melted! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
i like quick easy recipes, so this was great. Served it with tomato soup and everyone loved it. Scott Myhervold Anthem Az
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Anthem, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I like to use Arnold Health Nut bread for crunchiness, 1.5 slices of Velveeta for creaminess, 4 slices of cooked bacon for saltiness, and lots of sliced tomato for a touch of sweetness. I really enjoy reading everyone's variations! Gonna have to make one tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States