Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
The best grilled cheese sandwich I ever had was made with sourdough bread, cheddar cheese and crispy bacon! Yum...think I will go make one now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Absolutely fantastic recipe!! They're easy to make and utterly delicious! I would suggest using unsalted butter though as I used salted butter and yielded toasts that are a lil too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Probably my favorite food! I made one the other day with rye bread, roasted turkey and smoked horseradish cheese.....Yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Cheddar is a very oily cheese, which makes the sandwich very difficult to get through. I'm still looking for the perfect cheese for my grilled cheese sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
A classic. I used less butter than was called for in the recipe. Also, try grating the cheese to get a better melt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
growing up we always had this made with American cheese... I keep to that tradition, but I mix it up a little - I do one slice american and one slice pepper jack, I brush a little olive oil instead of butter (no saturated fats) and serve with Tomato Basil Soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christinasking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
When I make a grilled cheese sandwich, I like to butter both sides of the bread and fry both sides, so that you have a sandwich that's double-grilled. It tastes great, and has a wonderful texture. When one side of the bread slices are as brown as I like it, I flip both bread slices over and transfer them out of the skillet and on to a tray, browned side up. I spread the slices with mayo, add thin slices of cheese to one piece of bread, then add thin slices of tomato on top of that, and then thin slices of cheese on top of the tomato. Last, I put the other slice of bread on top, browned side in. You now have a sandwich that needs to get a nice brown crust on the outsides. Back into the skillet it goes, and brown both sides, being careful not to scorch. Gooey, hot, and really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I put a little extra inside. Heat up 2 tbsps Extra Virgin Olive oil in a separate frying pan when it is sizzling add ingredients below. Quarter of Onion peeled & diced up, Quarter of Green bell pepper seeded and diced, 2 large Mushrooms chopped 8 slices of Healthy choice Deli Roast beef Place in the middle of the buttered bread with 1 slice of Swiss Cheese slice then add sautéed onions, green bell peppers, mushrooms and beef on top with another slice of swiss Cheese then place the bread on top and cook as Directed for Grilled Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doubtmii

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I made mine with a mixture of butter and mayo to spread on the bread and used shredded cheddar cheese. Also took the liberty to add some halved black olives ( pitted canned olives) - the cheese olive combo was good. This together with some left over bruschettas and portobello mushroom soup made for a simple yet tasty dinner! Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This is my first review, although I have enjoyed many recipes on this site. Koodo's for the posting. I too, know how to make a grill cheese, but to find it as a recipe, first gave me a chuckle then I could not stop reading the reviews & will try experimenting some of the variations that sound awesome. Thanks for a recipe that is almost as good as snuggling up to a cozy fire with a good book. Memories have been made for decades from this great GCS.....Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 487) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States