Grilled Cheese, Pickle and Vidalia Onion Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Thanks for the *push* I needed to step out of my childhood grilled cheese w/White American and yellow mustard standby. I didn't have any cheddar, so I did use provolone and white American and I also added ham for some protein, but it would have been fantastic w/out the ham (and w/whatever cheese you prefer) as well! I liked this so much, I may just have one for lunch today, too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I used regular yellow onion, sauteed a little bit first, and very thin slices of cheddar and mozzarella. I also just used cooking spray instead of butter and this sandwich was excellent. What a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This was sooooo good! I had white cheddar and american, so I just combined both. Also, I used white bread. This was really tasty and we all enjoyed the combination of flavors. I will be making these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I used swiss cheese and zesty sandwich stackers with the Vidalia onion. I also used a light spreading of mayo on both sides of the sandwich. Quick sandwich for a mom on the go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Wow, this was great! Admittedly, I made a few changes to combine it with my other favorite grilled cheese sandwich. I used American cheese instead of Cheddar because I had it in the house...I also spread a little whipped cream cheese on one side and sprinkled the insides with italian seasoning. So good...I would never have thought of this combo, but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
My Vegetarian wife and son love this vaiation of the (plain, old) grilled cheese sandwich! Thanks for the recipe, Lainey!!! I had a jar of carmelized onions from our last canning season that I used for these. Made for a delicious "swwt and sour" effect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saucier Du Fer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I HAD THIS TONIGHT AND THOUGHT IT WAS SOOOO GOOD. I MADE IT WITH TEXAS TOAST AND SWISS CHEESE, DILL PICKLE, HAM. IT'S THE ONLY WAY I WILL BE MAKING MY GRILLED CHEESE SANDWICHES FOR NOW ON. THANKS FOR THIS RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This was surprisingly good. I used processed Swiss sliced and a red onion; I sliced my pickle length-wise. I think I will saute the onion a little before adding it to the sandwich so it has a little less bite. I used to make something similar (when I was a child) in the microwave with canned tuna, processed American cheese slices and pickles; I would layer it all on a sandwich and nuke it for a minute or two. I may try chopping up the onion and pickles into some canned tuna layered between the slices of cheese, and grill it. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Delicious! My husband and I loved it! We used sharp cheddar, white cheddar, dill pickles, and mayan sweet onion. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
...and here I thought I invented this. I have been making these since grade school! The best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States