Grilled Cheese, Pickle and Vidalia Onion Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I used swiss cheese and zesty sandwich stackers with the Vidalia onion. I also used a light spreading of mayo on both sides of the sandwich. Quick sandwich for a mom on the go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
...and here I thought I invented this. I have been making these since grade school! The best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Delicious! My husband and I loved it! We used sharp cheddar, white cheddar, dill pickles, and mayan sweet onion. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This recipe sounds delicious. On my pickle sandwiches, all i do is spread a little miracle whip onto my bread, put on a couple of pickles and toast the sandwich. It's so delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I used regular yellow onion, sauteed a little bit first, and very thin slices of cheddar and mozzarella. I also just used cooking spray instead of butter and this sandwich was excellent. What a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Delicious! Didn't think the pickles would be as tasty as they were. cheese and pickles. it is better than it sounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth and Luke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This was sooooo good! I had white cheddar and american, so I just combined both. Also, I used white bread. This was really tasty and we all enjoyed the combination of flavors. I will be making these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This was surprisingly good. I used processed Swiss sliced and a red onion; I sliced my pickle length-wise. I think I will saute the onion a little before adding it to the sandwich so it has a little less bite. I used to make something similar (when I was a child) in the microwave with canned tuna, processed American cheese slices and pickles; I would layer it all on a sandwich and nuke it for a minute or two. I may try chopping up the onion and pickles into some canned tuna layered between the slices of cheese, and grill it. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I HAD THIS TONIGHT AND THOUGHT IT WAS SOOOO GOOD. I MADE IT WITH TEXAS TOAST AND SWISS CHEESE, DILL PICKLE, HAM. IT'S THE ONLY WAY I WILL BE MAKING MY GRILLED CHEESE SANDWICHES FOR NOW ON. THANKS FOR THIS RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
My Vegetarian wife and son love this vaiation of the (plain, old) grilled cheese sandwich! Thanks for the recipe, Lainey!!! I had a jar of carmelized onions from our last canning season that I used for these. Made for a delicious "swwt and sour" effect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saucier Du Fer

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States