Grilled Cheese, Pickle and Vidalia Onion Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I used swiss cheese and zesty sandwich stackers with the Vidalia onion. I also used a light spreading of mayo on both sides of the sandwich. Quick sandwich for a mom on the go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
...and here I thought I invented this. I have been making these since grade school! The best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Delicious! My husband and I loved it! We used sharp cheddar, white cheddar, dill pickles, and mayan sweet onion. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This recipe sounds delicious. On my pickle sandwiches, all i do is spread a little miracle whip onto my bread, put on a couple of pickles and toast the sandwich. It's so delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I used regular yellow onion, sauteed a little bit first, and very thin slices of cheddar and mozzarella. I also just used cooking spray instead of butter and this sandwich was excellent. What a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Delicious! Didn't think the pickles would be as tasty as they were. cheese and pickles. it is better than it sounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth and Luke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This was sooooo good! I had white cheddar and american, so I just combined both. Also, I used white bread. This was really tasty and we all enjoyed the combination of flavors. I will be making these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This was surprisingly good. I used processed Swiss sliced and a red onion; I sliced my pickle length-wise. I think I will saute the onion a little before adding it to the sandwich so it has a little less bite. I used to make something similar (when I was a child) in the microwave with canned tuna, processed American cheese slices and pickles; I would layer it all on a sandwich and nuke it for a minute or two. I may try chopping up the onion and pickles into some canned tuna layered between the slices of cheese, and grill it. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I HAD THIS TONIGHT AND THOUGHT IT WAS SOOOO GOOD. I MADE IT WITH TEXAS TOAST AND SWISS CHEESE, DILL PICKLE, HAM. IT'S THE ONLY WAY I WILL BE MAKING MY GRILLED CHEESE SANDWICHES FOR NOW ON. THANKS FOR THIS RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
My Vegetarian wife and son love this vaiation of the (plain, old) grilled cheese sandwich! Thanks for the recipe, Lainey!!! I had a jar of carmelized onions from our last canning season that I used for these. Made for a delicious "swwt and sour" effect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saucier Du Fer

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States