Grilled Cheese De Mayo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Wow what a great sandwich. I used 12 grain bread instead of white. With the box grater using the slice side grated up some cheddar cheese, mozzarella and monetary jack cheese (I do not have cheese slices in house). Then slice some tomatoes. I cooked the sandwich in my pani maker. Will be making again. Thank you SHORECOOK for such a wonderful sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Made this to have with tomato soup and OMG this is comfort food at its best! We loved it! And it was so quick to make too! We will make our grilled cheese like this regularly! YUM! Thank You for sharing SHORECOOK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I think I'm converted. I don't think I'll ever make another grilled cheese sandwich with butter again. The mayonnaise was so easy to spread and fried the bread to a perfect, crispy, golden brown that had a really nice crunch to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This is the ONLY method I use for making grilled cheese sandwiches. The bread is not near as greasy using mayo as it is with butter - and it is delicious! I used this method to make 'Pico De Gallo Grilled Cheese Sandwich' from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I think the lure to this recipe is the fact that mayonnaise is slathered on the bread instead of soft butter, doesn't really matter what you put inside. Although we made with American cheese and jalapeno pepper-jack as directed, which is a very nice combo. I was amazed how the mayo gave an even browning with a nice crispy crunch without the greasy sogginess that butter can give. You don't taste mayonnaise at all and both my husband and I agree this was a very tasty grilled cheese. The other thing is the mayo didn't burn as fast as the butter does, so we were able to leave the bread on each side long enough for the cheese to melt inside. For us ease is another factor since we live in a hot climate we must store our butter in the fridge, so no more waiting for our butter to soften or brushing on melted butter. Give this one a try, you won't be disappointed, just use your favorite mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I wanted to try this but did not have the pepperjack cheese. I'll definitely try it again when I get ahold of some. Something different with the mayo in place of butter/marg...who knew? Thanks for the recipe, Shorecook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This was delicious. The mayo made it extra tangy without being overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
What a lovely sandwich! A very nice twist on an old favorite. You had me at pepper jack. Thank you Shorecook for a lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I LOVE grilled cheese sandwiches, especially when they are made different from the usual, and I LOVED this one! Made just as written, except I used light mayo, which I was unsure if it would brown properly, but it was fine. The combination of cheese was wonderful and provided just the right amount of 'kick'. Using the mayo is a great idea and a great alternative to when you have no butter or it's too cold to spread. Thanks, SHORECOOK, for the delicious sanwich idea~YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
You don't taste the mayo. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States