Grilled Cheese De Mayo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I think I'm converted. I don't think I'll ever make another grilled cheese sandwich with butter again. The mayonnaise was so easy to spread and fried the bread to a perfect, crispy, golden brown that had a really nice crunch to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This is the ONLY method I use for making grilled cheese sandwiches. The bread is not near as greasy using mayo as it is with butter - and it is delicious! I used this method to make 'Pico De Gallo Grilled Cheese Sandwich' from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I think the lure to this recipe is the fact that mayonnaise is slathered on the bread instead of soft butter, doesn't really matter what you put inside. Although we made with American cheese and jalapeno pepper-jack as directed, which is a very nice combo. I was amazed how the mayo gave an even browning with a nice crispy crunch without the greasy sogginess that butter can give. You don't taste mayonnaise at all and both my husband and I agree this was a very tasty grilled cheese. The other thing is the mayo didn't burn as fast as the butter does, so we were able to leave the bread on each side long enough for the cheese to melt inside. For us ease is another factor since we live in a hot climate we must store our butter in the fridge, so no more waiting for our butter to soften or brushing on melted butter. Give this one a try, you won't be disappointed, just use your favorite mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I wanted to try this but did not have the pepperjack cheese. I'll definitely try it again when I get ahold of some. Something different with the mayo in place of butter/marg...who knew? Thanks for the recipe, Shorecook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This was delicious. The mayo made it extra tangy without being overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
What a lovely sandwich! A very nice twist on an old favorite. You had me at pepper jack. Thank you Shorecook for a lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I LOVE grilled cheese sandwiches, especially when they are made different from the usual, and I LOVED this one! Made just as written, except I used light mayo, which I was unsure if it would brown properly, but it was fine. The combination of cheese was wonderful and provided just the right amount of 'kick'. Using the mayo is a great idea and a great alternative to when you have no butter or it's too cold to spread. Thanks, SHORECOOK, for the delicious sanwich idea~YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
You don't taste the mayo. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I'll never make grilled cheese sandwiches any other way again. Spreading the bread with mayo made for perfectly browned and crispy bread on the outside yet it was tender soft on the inside and I loved the combination of American and Pepperjack cheeses. I used 1 slice of each kind of cheese. For anyone thinking your sandwich will taste like mayo - it won't. Great technique SHORECOOK! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I'm the submitter of this recipe and I'd like to state that you don't taste the mayo. It is used to toast the sandwich a golden brown without tearing up the bread. Thank you to all who try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States